The Journey into Adulthood

in #myjourney6 years ago

Life isn't always fair. Some people are born into better environments. Some people have better genetics. Some are in the right place at the right time. If you're trying to change your life, all of this is irrelevant. All that matters is that you accept where you are, figure out where you want to be, and then do what you can, today and every day, to hold your head high and keep moving forward. ~ Lori Deschene.

This quote got me thinking last night. It is beautiful and it makes sense. It is exactly what I am doing.

I had my first photo-shoot yesterday, it was so much fun even though I didn't know what I was doing. My photographer, Donovan, was such a blessing. He was very supportive even when I felt like a complete chop. Hopefully that shoot will be on tv this weekend.

And I am also happy to announce that there are 22 days left until I am officially an independent adult! Our moving date is set for the 25th of May! Damien and I are super excited. We will also be celebrating 3 years together on the 17th of May. Oh how time flies when life keeps handing you obstacles.

I was thinking last night, because I had just watched Zootopia, that if I could be anything and I mean anything, I would either be a chef or a police officer. I have only figured this out recently, if someone had asked me what I wanted to be a year ago, I wouldn't have had an answer. Reason for wanting to be a chef is because food is absolutely amazing! How can you not be happy when food is around? I also find the process of cooking very therapeutic and it just makes me feel like I'm in my element. And I'm not a bad cook, if I must say so myself. The movie that made me realise that cooking is my passion is called "Julie & Julia", its about this girl that has just moved to a new city with her husband and she has a soul destroying job and she uses cooking as a way to calm her mind so she doesn't lose it. She starts a blog about cooking recipes from her favourite chef's cook book, she sets herself deadline, she has to cook 500 and something recipes in 365 days. It's a very cute and empowering movie. I would definitely watch it again and again and again. PS I've seen it 4 times already. hehe.
And the reason I want to be a police officer is simply because I respect what the police officers do, okay... Well, what they're supposed to do. Police officers in South Africa are mostly corrupt and I would like to do my bit and serve as an incorrupt police officer. I would like to give people hope that not everyone follows a certain stereotype. If you know me in person you would know that I'm exactly the opposite of every stereotype I fall under.

Alright, so that's a little bit about me. I'm looking forward to sharing my journey with you. Here's to 22 days left until I'm completely independent!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55