My OFW story - UAE Life

in #myofwstory6 years ago (edited)

A life being alone and away from your family is the most difficult and miserable, which an OFWs experienced. No one wants to suffer and recall the things or activities you do when you are with them. And you feel that you are slowly devouring of sorrow and convexed with anxiety, depression or any negative feelings that an OFW is likely to experience.

I missed a lot of things like;

  • My Nanay's (Mom) food and the way she taking care of me.
  • When my Tatay (Dad) was drunk and his a lot of nonsense story that you need to listen till 2 AM!
  • Siblings fight for nothing.
  • Every summer ( April- May) going to the beach and celebrate my Tatay's (Dad) birthday or Wedding Anniversary of my parents. Staying there for atleast 1 night and1 day or more.
  • To sleep at night in one bed with my 1 sister and 2 brothers (yeah it's a big bed actually and can accommodate 4 persons... hahaha)

image.png
PAKIW na ISDA

  • Eating with them and like a construction worker where we can finish 1 big rice cooker of rice with Paksiw fish. ( It's a Filipino dish with any kind of Fish with a sour taste)

  • When I have problems and just crying with my Nanay's shoulder and asking some question - Why, What, Where - and she's so sweet wiping my tears, hugging me and comforting me as always.

  • Missed my Tatay on his sermon ( like a preaching priest in the church) where he comparing they're life before and our life now.

  • And a lot of activities I want to do when I have a vacation...


UAE LIFE

2014 - UAE Career

2014 November - I decided to accept my Tita's offers to go and work in UAE, five months after I gave birth to my baby kheycie. First thing in my mind that time is to support all the needs of my baby and my family. Sacrifices first then later I will or we will be happy together after this.

2014 December everything for me was great. I got a job so quick as in after 3 weeks I have a good work and good bosses also. Got a nice colleague also who helps me in everything that I am not familiar as a new member of the company.

2015 - Start of the problem

After 1 year and 8 months company faced struggles and shut down. They needed to close the company and they canceled us since they cannot support and give us the right salary.

In that case, I postponed my vacation for the year 2016 and try to search for another company. Struggles were real that time and also the market was too bad. Everywhere that time you can see and encounter a lot of applicants who are looking for a job. ( Actually, even now)

Being an OFW you need to adjust for everything. You need to consider all the aspects like of religion, food, traditions and even strange behavior of a boss or colleague. You need to low your pride, keep on focus and you will be a successful OFW.

2016 February - A pathetic boss I ever encountered.

So happy after a month I got a new job. I thought everything will be fine and great. But it's just another a problem and it was so real. My pathetic boss didn't process my visa and I got an over-stayed for more than 60 days and got a fine of AED 2800.00.

By the help of my relatives and friends, I gathered a fund for the fine and paid it. Thanks to God also he always there and give me strength and support as per on his will. Thankful also to have a family who always there to support me.

2016 July - New friends, new visa and new career path.



I booked a 5 days vacation and for exit purposes also in Armenia. While waiting for my UAE visa (visit visa) I met new friends who I'm with for 5 days staying there. We explored and went to some places known as a tourist spot.

So cool experience and yet so expensive HAHAHA!. (for me it's expensive). A total of more or less AED 5000.00 for all the expenses from food, transportation, hotel etc.. but so enjoyed to be there and know more about Armenia.

New Work

August 2016, I met my friend and gave me a contact with one company looking for who can work as an Admin / Sales position. I contact the number and asked for an interview. 3 days after the call conference they scheduled an interview.

So happy that time after the interview and exams they process my visa and voila! after 1 week my visa is finished and applied. Just waiting for the documents which can be done after a month.

It's fine to be there for more than 3 years and even there was no vacation yet. I can wait and already planned a vacation by December, so see you Philippines SOON !!!! :)


Lesson learned:

Make your little Philippines here in UAE and be happy. Try to communicate and go outside with your relatives (since they're your family also), make new friends ( but be careful), smile always and explore new things which can get you better.

In every problem don't forget to pray and ask a help from our dear God. Let him do whatever the right for you and follow the things and do it according to his will. Don't say you want to give up because he never giving up on you.

If you feel down, think why you here?, why you are an OFW now?, what are your goals?
After, make a deep breath and start to think new moves and let the ideas come.
BE STRONG. :) YOU ARE A HERO :)

Always wear your smile and don't let the sorrow seize you.


SPECIAL THANKS

Thank you @steemph.UAE for this contest :) . love to express and share the story of being an OFW.


image.png

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story. Don't forget to promote your post - the comment that you left at the main contest post. Part of the contest criteria is to get the most votes there too!

Thank you :) for the contest, yes I will try to promote my comment ...

That's a rollercoaster work experience. Glad you're great with your new job now. OFWs are Heroes indeed. Kudos to your hard work for your family and baby :)

Hello, Jazz :)

Thank you for passing by.
Yes, it's like a rollercoaster work experience but we just need to ride on it and handle that problem. Thanks God that my work and company is stable now.

Ofw ka rin diba? Saan ka?

Grabe Che! Ang hirap talaga ng maging OFW andaming sacrifices para sa pamilya. 😢😢

Buti nalang at stable na si work mo now yehey! More blessings to come!


Hello Ka-Ohana
I nominated this post to be featured for our 63rd Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts.

To know the mechanics on how you can be nominated on the Steemit Family Featured Post and also get to know who made it on the 62nd edition you can click this link.

Daily Steemit Family Ph Featured Posts #62

All the best!

Yes, Tp :) indeed!
As OFW sacrifices are part of the journey. 1st thing you need to be strong and on focus despite all the struggles and the problems you will face in future or whatever the problems you're facing right now.

Nakaka-stress na ung homesick plus ung problem pa na haharapin mo about visa, work, amo atbp.,


Thank you for the nomination :)

Matatag naman ako Che pero nung iniwan nya ako hahahha 😢😢 ay iba na pala yun


Walang anuman kailangan mo ng exposure at dahil dyan pasisikatin ka namin! bwahahha

Wag ka ksi maniniwala sa forever masasaktan ka lang.wahahaha


Kakanta na po ba ako?

I really salute you guys for your dedication and sacrifice for your family, the entire country and your dreams. Thank you for letting us experience UAE @cheche016 through this post.

This is a nice article. Informative and moving. All the best!

Thank you for passing by sis :) and also for your wonderful comment and words which makes me stronger and every Filipino workers who will read the same. It's my pleasure to share the feelings and experience of every OFW in all part of the world.

I admired every Filipino who sacrifices things just to make their loved ones happy and comfortable despite their sorrow and depression. Still, they smiled and let them self-stronger than before.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67831.12
ETH 3801.93
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75