Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary. MyPictureDay Challenge Round #22

in #mypictureday6 years ago

Thank you @timsaid for hosting, 'MyPictureDay Challenge Round #22.'

This is my submission.

One of the main things on my, 'to do' list when visiting the Gold Coast recently was to spend a few hours at the famous Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary. I went there about four years ago and although it was wonderful, I was extremely disappointed to discover that the large bird enclosure was closed due to maintenance and many of the animals were camera shy. This time was exciting because every Australian animal I wanted to photograph made themselves available to me and my camera. How lucky was I?

One of the first areas I came to at the sanctuary was one which housed some beautiful koalas. I knew they slept a lot (20 hours a day, in fact) so I was thrilled to see one chomping on some eucalyptus leaves not far away. After devouring his breakfast he looked at me with interest as if to make sure I was happy with my photos. I was amused to see the half eaten eucalyptus stalk resting against his nose......he clearly wasn't prepared to waste any of his oil rich meal and was politely waiting for me to move on so he could continue.

Visitors were enjoying feeding the raucous, brightly coloured lorikeets nearby. These lovely birds were not shy and felt at home on peoples heads and shoulders whilst making sure to eat their fill of seeds provided for them.

rsWMFEEDINGLORIKEETS.png

This world renowned Sanctuary was built in 1947 but was known back then, as the Currumbin Bird Sanctuary. It has seen many improvements and extensions since then. The miniature railway has been operating since 1964 so when walking the entire area of 18.728 hectares (46.28 acres) becomes a little tiring, a tour via the train through this picturesque setting is a great way to ensure you are not going to miss out on the wide variety of amazing attractions available.

rsWMCURTRAINjpg.png

We timed the Pelican feeding event perfectly and were highly entertained as we watched pelicans, cormorants, herons and even eels line up for their protein fix for the morning. There was quite a bit of pushing and shoving going on amongst the pelicans and I wasn't surprised to hear that the main culprit (the one in the front) was named "Bossy." It probably wasn't a coincidence to note that he was also the largest pelican in the group.

rsWMHUNGRYPELICANS.png

There he is again, establishing the pecking order in no uncertain terms.

rsWMPELICANFEEDING.png

As the wildlife employer was doing her best to ensure everyone got their fair share of fish, along came a cute little cormorant. He sat on her shoulder whilst she performed her duties and it was obvious that these two knew each other well. This little guy used to be a patient in the hospital (which is located on the premises) after being found injured by one of the staff members a while ago. He flourished after being nursed back to health and will often fly in for some company during feeding time.

rswmcormonshoulder.png

I spotted a few sheep resisting being moved from one area to another and realized that the sheep shearing demonstration had just finished. Curiosity got the better of me and I ventured into the enclosure to see what I had missed out on. There was no-one else around but as I walked into the building I had the uncanny feeling that I was being observed. I wasn't mistaken. Ol Blue Eyes was studying me with interest and pricked up his ears when I started talking to him. He posed nicely for me and I was glad my curiosity led me to him. Pity I missed the sheep shearing session though. Maybe next time.

rsWMSHEEPDOG.png

The Wildlife Sanctuary has many quiet resting spots in between the shows and enclosures.

wmCPark.png

Kangaroos are relatively tame around the park but this one approached its visitor rather tentatively.

wmfeedingroo5.png

This one showed complete distain for the intrusive "selfie' instructions a zealous tourist insisted on taking.

rsWMROOGETSSELFIEINSTRUCTIONSjpg.png

While this one allowed a pigeon and a young boy to get close in exchange for a feed.

rsBoyfeedsroo.png

A cuddly wombat came out to greet me. It was the first time I'd been this close to a wombat and again I felt fortunate because these unique Australian marsupials are nocturnal in their habits. I was excited to study the lovely markings on his fur, and his unusual flat shaped nose. I couldn't coax a smile out of him so his rodent like teeth stayed hidden but he did show me his strong claws when he got even closer a few minutes later.

rsWMWOMBAT.png

Two dingoes roamed about their large enclosure. They too, are native to Australia and although they are classed as feral dogs, they are also listed as a Vulnerable species. Their fur colours range from ginger, to tan and black to creamy white.

rsWM2DINGOESjpg.png

In the wild, dingoes are found in alpine moorlands, hot, arid desserts, and tropical forests and wetlands. Their diet consists of reptiles, birds, fish, crabs, frogs, insects, and seeds. About 15 minutes after leaving them we heard wolf like cries coming from their enclosure. It was an eerie, plaintive sound and I wondered what message they were conveying and to whom.

one WM DINGO.png

Further along the path I see a very obliging emu allowing a visitor to take a selfie with her. He'd obviously been introduced to selfies before and was flattered by the attention. Very amusing indeed.

wm emuselfie.png

One doesn't go to an Australian wildlife park and ignore our crocodiles. They are always a popular attraction but I wouldn't say I find them attractive. They say, "Never smile at a crocodile," but no-one told this crocodile that he couldn't smile at me. Very friendly..........don't you think?!?

wmcroc2.png

His mate didn't appear to have sense of humour so I didn't hang around him for long. See you later alligator!

wm  croc1.png

Have you ever heard of Tree Kangaroos? Their appearance is quite distinctive and I really love their red coloured fur and their long tails with wide stripes running down the middle of them.

wmTKanga.png

Tree kangaroos have longer and broader hind feet with longer, curved nails than terrestrial kangaroos. Their tails are much larger too, which enhances their balance when moving around trees. They hop when on the ground and like terrestrial kangaroos, and they do not sweat to cool their bodies but they lick their forearms and allow the moisture to evaporate which is an adapted form of behaviour.

rsWMTreeKjpg.png

I discovered another tree climbing species during my wanderings. Three young boys receive instructions for their Tree Top challenge which is a huge attraction at the Sanctuary. There are 80 different Tree Top Challenges and 11 ziplines......all guaranteed to get the adrenaline pumping for adventure lovers of all ages.

wmTTop3.png

My next exciting encounter was with a very fascinating Tasmanian Devil. These guys have been very elusive around me in the past so I could have hugged this one ( a fleeting, wild thought I attributed to my surroundings) when he trotted out from his liar and came forward to introduce himself. His large pink ears made an interesting contrast to his dark fur. Once known as implacably vicious, dingoes hunted them and so did humans due to their threat to livestock. Their fur was valued also but the devils eventually became an endangered species and are therefore now protected.

wmTASDEVIL.png

Now before you start patting me on the back for being very brave in facing this enormous creature, he, unlike all the other Aussie animals I have shown you, is not real. I know Australia has the ideal geographic and climatic requirements for many a wild and dangerous species, and despite the rumours you may have heard, this Velociraptor is most definitely extinct. All around this vast and wonderful Wildlife Sanctuary you'll find life-like sculptured animals to increase the pleasure for children and instil within them, a desire to learn more about nature and to return again before too long.

wmdino3.png

The multiple gift shops have a fabulous selection of souvenirs to take home to remind visitors of all that this place has to offer. I'm glad I completed my visit when I did because the 2018 Commonwealth Games starts today (04/04/18) at the Gold Coast and as Currumbin is only a 30 minute drive from Surfers Paradise, I know there will be thousands of visitors wanting to see for themselves, what I call a most enjoyable Australian experience. Thankfully this park is designed to cater for large crowds.

Farewell Currumbin Wildlife Sanctuary.

rsWMCURSIGNjpg.png

(Information source en.m.wikipedia.org)

All photos are captured and edited by myself (@trudeehunter) I used a Panasonic Lumix DMC-FZ70 Camera.

qurator gif.gif

Sort:  

Hiya. How does this compare to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary? We were planning to go there when we're in Brisbane next month, but this one sounds like it might be nicer. Though it wouldn't be as easy to fit in. How much time would we need to cover most of it? (Still hoping to fit it in to see you too)

Hi @kiwideb I wish I could give you a comparison but unfortunately I have not been to Lone Pine Santuary. I’m fairly certain Currumbin is a lot bigger and will have attractions that Lone Pine dosen’t have. You’d have to factor in the distance for travelling and you’d need a good 3hours although I did pause to take a lot of photos. I don’t think you can wrong with either venues. I’d really love to meet you and @andysantics in person. What dates will you be in Brisbane? I will be away at the end of April and will return May 4th. 😊

Thu 17th to Sun 20th May. I think Andy's grandson (7.5 yo) would love to go to one of the sanctuary's so we'll just see which one would fit in best. I want to see Aladdin, and there are some family members to see. So hopefully that will leave some time. Maybe Fri or Sat early evening? Are there any other Brisbane Steemians we might know?

You have some big decisions to make with organising your visit in Brisbane @kiwideb and you don't appear to have a lot of time to fit everything in. The Aussie Steemians we met at the meet-up a few weeks ago all came from the sunshine coast and the Gold Coast apart from a young couple who have just joined. I can certainly make the time to meet with you if you can fit it in. See how you go with your plans and whatever you organize, I hope you have a wonderful stay.

great work.....


This is a curation bot for TeamNZ. Please join our AUS/NZ community on Discord.
For any inquiries/issues about the bot please contact @cryptonik.

Wow! This is well-written and very informative. I have never heard of a tree kangaroo. They are so lovely.

We got a chance to visit a zoo in Perth, and reading this brought back all the lovely memories.

Thank you so much for sharing. 😊

Hello @gingbabida Many thanks for your wonderful comments and appreciation. I'm glad I was able to bring back happy memories of you zoo visit to Perth.

Great animal pictures @trudeehunter! I especially loved the koala since you can rarely see them awake! Theyre sooo sleepy and cute up on those trees! But to catch one like that is rare:) cute picture!!

Thanks so much @cooknbake I was very lucky with many of my animal photos this time and it made my visit even more enjoyable. Currumbin is a special place.

Koala is a very nice animal, I have never seen them, even at the zoo.
We often visit zoos in different countries, my child is very fond of animals.

Thank you @marymik23 Koalas are very cute. I could watch them for ages.......not that they are very active during the day usually. Yes, most children love animals and of course, trips to the zoo.

Appreciated work....

Thank you @alif-meem Glad you enjoyed this blog.

Beautiful animals and birds you captured Trudee. A lovely well written post. I thoroughly enjoyed your visit to the sanctuary.

Thank you Joanne. I'm very happy you enjoyed coming with me to this amazing place.

What a fine piece of photographic journalism. The sanctuary is a place for me - I believe I belong in the koala enclosure (20 hours of sleep sounds like a great idea).

Thank you kindly @trumanity. Those koalas sleep their life away but as a chronic insomniac I do feel envious of their ability to sleep like that. Mind you, their beds don’t look very comfortable. 😄

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66932.02
ETH 3099.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74