Dear @janton, thank you for asking questions!

in #myresponse6 years ago (edited)

I have a policy where if my comment gets too long, it becomes a post. So here we are!


Image Source Pexels

I commented that my VP percentage is extremely low (in the 20's).

lol! oh man @ironshield! wow I thought mine was getting low. but look, you're almost to 500! yay! great job. then you can use the slider and vote all the time without running out of power!

I've been on Steemit for about a year and I'm just about the cross over the 2K mark in SP. I delegated about 1500 SP to various causes and made 500 SP my goal so I can get my vote slider back, I'm almost there! In the meantime, I'm glad to be dishing out 100% upvotes, even if it drains my voting power. When VP is really low it recharges quicker, that's one plus at least!

I heard that only 1% of the people on Steemit achieve 500 SP, is that correct?

Ha, I didn't realize I'm a "One Percenter" on Steemit. I didn't know that statistic, so I cannot confirm or deny it. I once read a statistic that the majority of the 1 million accounts are not active - they do no posting commenting or upvoting. So of that "1%", I wonder how many actually interact here?

You and your wife believe in this as a long-term wealth builder obviously, is it mostly faith in the system and crypto or is there anything but theory that people can point to?

I wouldn't say we have great faith in the system, per se. I got started with the homesteading community, then the Christian/Bible community, family protection, steemsilvergold and informationwar. I enjoy interacting with all of the fine Steemians in these communities.

I do have faith in establishing a good name, not for myself but as a reflection of the Holy Name of the Most High. I fall short, just like anyone else, but for someone who may be impressed with anything I've ever done - all glory goes to Him.

As far as Steemit being a long-term wealth builder... I couldn't say for sure. I think we are just beginning to see what this will become in the future. STEEM is the only crypt-currency that actually DOES something, by 'vesting' (that is STEEM POWER) you gain influence in the community. I've seen so many people give up on this platform for whatever reason, but what I've learned is those who stick with it, become the 'seniors' for the freshman coming in next wave. They come when STEEM gets to four or five dollars, THEN they're suddenly interested in posting!

I believe true wealth building comes by establishing good relationships with people and behaving as an actual community. I know that word is over used and misunderstood (this is not a commune), but it is a community when we help each other, build each other up, show compassion and offer charity. This is what people do in a community, despite their differences.

In the end, it's all theory. We are in uncharted territory. It may 'go to the moon' as many believe, or it may fail miserably. It only fails if people abandon it and sell out. It succeeds as new features and abilities are added, attracting more talent and investors. We know new features are being added, new websites are developed using the STEEM blockchain, we know new investors are always looking for something upwards to invest in. If the investors would invest in STEEM POWER and participate in the community, now we're seeing the start of something huge. Can't sell off SP in a minute's notice, just ride the wave up (or down). There's no way to prove that the STEEM token will ever be financially valuable, but there is abundant evidence that the community on Steemit is strong and likely positioned to become stronger.

All that to say, yes I think the STEEM blockchain has a very prosperous future. Unless it's abandoned entirely, it will succeed.

my wife isn't convinced and I don't know.

You won't convince your wife that Steemit is anything unless she begins interacting with and meeting the excellent people here on Steemit. It's unlike any other social media platform I've ever been a part of. Everyone carries a stick and a carrot - a downvote ("flag") and an upvote. This keeps things civil, unlike any other platform I've ever seen. Most people who are convinced of the future of Steemit, come to that conclusion after a few months of diligent commenting and posting.

My wife @lturner is on Steemit and although she's not able to post so often these days (managing a household full time), she has met some wonderful people here and she enjoys writing back and forth. She wasn't exactly 'sold' on Steemit when she began, but with time she's grown fairly fond of it.

I hope this answers your question, @janton. I always appreciate that you ask them! It shows great respect for others and everyone learns in the process, even if the question isn't answered! There's a lesson in simply asking.

Your Steemit friend,
Benjamin Turner


SmartCashSXJLtozyeJeCxYMd5ckXU2rGHGjAwUePMa
Bitcoin14USVaf7cnCZzMtvFaqGuSXdKcVq4pFHzf
LitecoinLPRHooiVYgvM6Jp7jsDYhcvXeTB2qnBfk9
Ethereum0xAd1E93433DD92d07425ADa83d9192d6bD1ee08e0
Bitsharesir0nshield <----with a "zero" for an "o"

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Do you want to learn how to format your Steemit posts?


Make your steemit posts more appealing! Check out the course by @sumatranate on markdown and learn how to make your Steemit posts stand out. Check it out here.

Sort:  

howdy back at ya @ironshield.. this is really strange to see my questions up there, and my username! But what a way to get my questions answered, thank you this is really cool and thank you so much for the answers. God Bless you and yours!

When a comment becomes the length of a post, it becomes a post! Enjoy the day today, it's finally cooler over here. The breeze feels amazing after the drippy humid past few days. @ironshield

howdy today @ironshield! your rule about the length becoming a post is a good one, I might have to adapt that one myself.
where is "over here?" if I may ask?

Sunny southeastern Michigan! A bike's ride away from Lake St Clair! @ironshield

oh thank you sir ironshield! way up there, at least from here, ya'll starting to get ready for winter? lol

Lol. That is quite smart. I have gone back and forth with Janton as well and it is like a post by the time you finish. I honestly don't mind as I find it refreshing to answer comments. Not everyone asks questions either.

I find the questions refreshing. Although I think there have been times I haven't at least tried to respond to every question! @ironshield

You can use busy.org the same way as steemit and you get a vote slider as a default.

I like busy.org, But I wish they had a 'Night Mode' like on Steemit. There is a Chrome tool that allows minnows to have a vote slider on Steemit, before reaching 1 MVEST, I use to use that but I haven't gotten around to installing it. I wrote about it almost a year ago now. Boy how time flies. @ironshield

https://steemit.com/steem/@ironshield/instructions-chrome-vote-percentage-slider-for-minnows

I think I've met my steem twin. It appears we share the same thought patterns, and only slight differences in our actions. You're on the right track, communities and a good name is what matters

Thank you! Steemit really is all about establishing a good name. @ironshield

Thank you for your continued support of SteemSilverGold

great post. thanks for share.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by ironshield from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

@smartbot tip 1

Your post has been tweeted to 2000 followers. Follow me on twitter
Your post has been shared with 2000 facebook members. Join facebook group

Σ$$$ Tipped @ironshield Σ1 SMART! Comment @smartbot help to claim. Currently the price of SmartCash in the market is $0.088 USD per SMART. Current value of the tip is $0.09 USD. To find out more about SmartCash, please visit https://smartcash.cc.

Congratulations!!!
You will be rewarded 1 SMARTCASH for using this resteem service

ABASINKANGA RESTEEM SERVICE

  • This post just got resteemed to 7000 followers.
  • For anyone to use my resteem service, send 0.1 SBD to @abasinkanga + post link as memo.
  • Earn SmartCash rewards when you resteem your post
  • Tip with SMARTCASH or Upvote this comment if you appreciate this service.

    How To Use SmartCash?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62