The Rabbit Hole.. pt 2

in #mystery5 years ago (edited)

What should have been a simple task: finding some contact information and writing an email or making a phone call, turned into a sleepless night of wading through scams and scandals..

Down the Rabbit Hole....png
src

*NOTE: If you have not done so already, please read part one of this post for context.

Ok, so the first thing that threw a monkey wrench into my plans was.. I couldn't find the company!

In my recollection, the TEFL course that I took was with a company called World TEFL school, or something like that.. It supposedly had many locations placed around the world, but the one it promoted on its website, and the one I signed up for, was based in Koh Samui, Thailand.

I thought surely this was enough info for a quick google search. Boy, was I wrong..

I did find a course named TEFL World and it was located in.. Koh Samui, Thailand! hmm..

Another thing I remembered about my experience was that it was run by a short, stocky Scottish bloke that we nicknamed Imp. He basically left a bad taste in everyone's mouth. But luckily, he wasn't the instructor so we didn't see much of him...

This TEFL World though seemed to owned and operated by a stocky british-looking guy named Darren.. I was convinced it was the Imp. I tried calling the number on their site.. no answer.. they didn't provide an email address to contact.. finally I noticed that little [f] Facebook symbol on the bottom of the page and sent a message there.

I received a response. "You must have the wrong TEFL company.." I was sure it was them! I doubled down and dug deeper...

dig.png
src

I tunneled to the BOTTOM of my inbox.. messages from nearly a dozen years ago.. I FOUND what I was looking for.. A correspondence with WorldTEFLschool.. phone numbers, website, and a first name...

..Jimmy..

Ok, so I was WRONG about TEFL World, which turned out to be a big red herring in our investigation, but at least NOW I had a lot more concrete evidence to go on!

First, I tried the website.. 404 Error: This site doesn't exist.
Uh oh.. not a good sign... I thought a phone call might work, but the numbers were out of operation. Damn.. I'd have to resort to different tactics if I was going to continue my investigation..

I googled: "What happened to WorldTEFLschool?"
There were some hits of a few people inquiring about the school.. but the posts were from 12 years ago..

Then I found one post that was about blacklisted TEFL organizations!...it seemed like somewhere in the comments someone had mentioned WorldTEFLschool.. so I dove in.

dive.jpg
src

A red herring caught took us down a dead-end road, but we are back on track! Who is Jimmy and what did this mysterious comment say about his debunked company? Click here for the exciting conclusion of Down The Rabbit Hole..

Until Then...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62983.95
ETH 2962.52
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58