The unsolved crime

in #mystery6 years ago

The Unsolved Crime

                              After mopping the blood off the floor I was exhausted. I laid in the bed peacefully trying to get the sound of the old man’s shrieks of horror and texture of his warm thick blood out of my mind. But ,the moment I closed my eyes an image of his face popped up in my mind . As I got up to get something to drink I could feel the nerves in my hand shaking rapidly and hear the sweat off my body hit the floor. Each drop of sweat that hit the ground reminded me of the blood that spilled out the old man’s body. Finally I got my water sat down on the couch and began to drink it trying to cool my body and calm my nerve.
               Knock! Knock! “It’s the police”,the police man shouted in a firm voice! Suddenly my body froze, my heart dropped on the solid wooden floor , and the glass of water released from my hand and spilled all over the sofa. As I headed for the door I could see the lights from  the sirens flashing through my window. Then it hit me if I get caught tonight I will never see daylight again. I reached for the doorknob with my sweaty palm hoping and praying that they just had the wrong house. After opening the door the police got right to the point and told me that there have been some reports of an old man screaming for help. With the fakest laugh I ever did I answered,” It was just probably one my records I was playing.” But, the police looked at me as if he knew I was lying and replied,” We’ll have to search your house sir.” I almost swallowed my tongue. 
          While one of the officers searched the rest of my house the other one stood next to me with his hand on his gun as if he thought I was going to try to escape. I could hear every step the officer took around the house. Each time he took a step a drop of sweat rolled down my face. Then a scream of surprise came from upstairs. The officer next to me told not to move and ran upstairs. I sat on the couch without a worry knowing there wasn't any evidence left and that I had cleaned up anything they could use against me. But, then again I didn't want to count my chickens before they hatched. So, I kept my eyes open and my nose wide.
         About five minutes after the officer rushed upstairs they both came rushing down the stairs with their face filled with distraught like they saw a ghost or something. With curiosity I asked the policemen,"What made you guys rush down here." But, they just sat on the couch in shock until one of the officers spoke up and asked,"Sir does your doors and windows closed by them?" I quickly shook my head no. Confused and scared I sat trying to think of a reason this would happen. Then it all made sense I might have killed the old man, but his spirit would still lie beneath the house.
      Then the officers told me to get in their car because they have to ask some questions at the station. I started walking towards the front door, my heart beat sound like a marching band at high school football game. While we were on our way to the station I admired everything we passed because I knew if I got caught it would never be seen again by my eyes. When I got there they didn't waste anytime, they put me in a room and started asking me questions. Then I noticed something they were just asking the same questions they asked at the house. I guess they wanted to see if I was lying. But, after the 3rd question I think they noticed I was giving them the same answers I gave them at the house. So, about 10 minutes after that the policemen said, "You're free to go." Finally I was a free man.     

.

Sort:  

Congratulations @vons! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem blockchain survived its first virus plague!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62233.47
ETH 2998.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50