#NaNoWriMo and #FreewriteMadness Has Begun! My First EffortsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nanowrimo5 years ago (edited)

Oh my ... the #NaNoWriMo and #FreewriteMadness fun has officially kicked off! I already have my work cut out for me: I'm trying to silence the inner critic in my head and just allow the words to flow. In this post, I am sharing the results of my very first bout of writing.

Full disclosure: this entire chapter (entitled 'It Puts Bread on the Table') wasn't written today! Significant chunks of it predate November. I have italicised those pieces of text and excluded them from my word count so far – I am just putting them in this post for context, so that the story as a whole makes sense. I decided that my first NaNoWriMo challenge would be to try and plug all of the gaping holes in this chapter, which is what I have now done. 😊 Woohoo!

I intend to do more writing today, so I'm not going to officially update my word count on the #FreewriteMadness challenge form yet, but as of right now – based on all of the non-italicised text here – I have written 734 words. A rush of first-day enthusiasm is bearing me onwards.

It Puts Bread on the Table


Ele.ro

‘Hey.’

‘Hi.’

They exchange a hesitant smile. Sarah still can’t quite place Mark’s accent. He sounds as though he may be from the Midlands. Offaly, perhaps. Or Westmeath. His curly auburn hair has been shaved on either side of his head, with one large section remaining intact in the centre. He has deep-set hazel eyes and heavily freckled skin.

She suddenly feels acutely conscious of how plain she must look, with her plump, heart-shaped face that makes her seem much younger than her actual age of twenty-four, and her mousey shoulder-length hair that always, always, goes flat within an hour, no matter what she tries to do with it. She has made an effort to dress up tonight, but her wardrobe is ill-equipped for occasions like this. Black jeans and a shimmering green top were the best she could do, but the top is covered by her sodden raincoat right now.

‘Okay!’ André proclaims, suddenly appearing by her side. ‘Here, Sar, I’ll take your coat. We’re putting them all in the cloakroom…’

‘Thanks, André.’

His eyes widen and flicker between Sarah and Mark. He mouths: Am I interrupting something?

She shakes her head and shoos him away, blushing. Mark didn’t see all that, did he? Hopefully not – he’s checking his phone at the moment.

After a moment, he smiles and looks up at her. ‘Sorry, just checking a work email. There was a problem in the office earlier today and it took ages to sort out. It’s boring, it doesn’t matter. Looks like it’s sorted now anyway … how are you?’

‘I’m good. You?’

‘Great.’

They stand there for a few moments, Sarah awkwardly bobbing her head to the music. André and the others are gathered around the cloakroom. He wasn’t exactly subtle about pushing her and Mark together at the beginning of the evening: he had practically frog-marched her over to the bar and made a big show out of saying hello to Mark, before ‘suddenly remembering’ that he had to go and help Jack with the coats.

'I don’t come to this place very often,' Mark shouts over the music. 'It’s full of people who make me feel old … is it just me, or does their clientele get younger and younger every night?'

'No idea,' Sarah shouts back. 'But Jack and his friends like it – that’s all I know.'

'Yeah.' He laughs. 'I don’t know, maybe I’m getting a bit old for this whole clubbing thing. I’m in my late twenties now … I ought to leave the whippersnappers to it.'

'Oh, come on,' she protests with a smile, 'that isn’t old!'

'Ah, I’m messing. Kind of…'

She smiles and cranes her neck to look at the harried bartenders, who are rushing around trying to fulfil customers’ orders. 'Are you getting anything?'

'I’d like to,' he responds ruefully, 'but there’s no chance of us getting served right now. Not with that huge group in front of us.'

She shakes her head and laughs. 'Yeah, I guess. So, um … how do you know Jack again?'

‘I’m a friend of a friend from college. Damian, you remember? I was in the same class as him, and he knows Jack, so we were all out last weekend –’

'Oh yeah…' Sarah does remember him, vaguely: the tall, somewhat imposing guy – strong, square jaw, sharp brown eyes – with his dark hair in a buzzcut. He had intimidated her slightly, but then, doesn’t everyone?

André and Jack approach the bar, freed at last from the cloakroom queue.

‘I swear to God,’ André exclaims, ‘the impatience of some people! I’ve had enough of being pushed around for one night –’ He seamlessly cuts his way through the enormous crowd of people in front of them, to reach the front of the bar. ‘Hi, could I have a gin and tonic, please? And – hang on – Sarah? Jack? What do you all want? I’m getting this round.’

‘How does he do that?’ Sarah whispers to Mark, a tone of wonder in her voice. ‘I’m way too scared to wrestle through a crowd like that. Vodka and coke, please, André…’

He has soon returned, bearing a tray of drinks.

‘How do you do that?’ Sarah asks him immediately.

‘It’s all about showing initiative, Sar,’ he declares as he hands out everyone’s drinks and sets the tray on a nearby table. Quietly, with a glance at Mark, he adds, ‘initiative will get you far in life, remember that…’

Sarah makes a noise that she hopes will come across as a carefree, light-hearted laugh. Anxious to disguise how flustered she is, she swallows a hasty mouthful of her drink, but immediately regrets this decision when she begins to choke on it. André turns to stare at her, his eyes wide. ‘Are you okay, Sar?’

‘I – I’m – fine,’ she croaks, before a fresh fit of coughing overtakes her.

André thumps her on the back several times which, if anything, makes her feel worse. Mark looks somewhat unnerved by the intensity of her coughing, while Jack’s eyebrows are raised.

‘Sorry,’ Sarah gasps, when her breathing has finally returns to normal. ‘I just … you know … drank it too fast, or something…’ She stares down at the floor and dares to take another, more tentative sip, praying that the colour in her cheeks will soon subside.

They move to a table with a semi-circular sofa alongside it, where some of Jack’s friends have congregated. Sarah recognises Damian and a few others whom she met last weekend. She smiles politely at them all – says hello – but they’re all engaged in what looks to be a hilarious conversation about something that happened within their group back in college, and she can’t think of anything witty to add. She doesn’t know where to sit either.

André seems to sense this. As Mark moves onto the sofa and takes his seat, André hangs back and says, pointedly, ‘after you, Sar.’ She smiles gratefully at him – this way, she will be next to Mark, but André will be right on the other side of her, if conversation runs dry or things get too awkward.

The group seems to have moved on to talking about a lecturer they once had, whom nobody liked. Mark joins in with the discussion for a few minutes, regaling the group with an anecdote about how this lecturer was meant to be his thesis supervisor, but was rarely available for meetings and provided him with almost no help.

After a few minutes, he clears his throat, smiles and turns to ask Sarah, ‘so … how is work going?’

‘Oh … it’s going grand, you know.’

‘You work in a supermarket, right?’

‘Yeah.’

‘Do you like it?’

‘It’s okay,’ Sarah responds with a shrug. ‘Boring, mostly. But you’d be surprised, sometimes! The people who come in –’ At this point, she hesitates. She was about to launch into the story about Derek Fitzmaurice, but she doesn’t think he would like to be gossiped about. Telling André about it was one thing. She knows it will not go any further than him. But as for telling people she doesn’t really know… ‘The people who come in are really nice,’ she finishes weakly. ‘And, you know, it puts bread on the table.’ She stares down at the floor for a moment, praying that the colour in her cheeks will soon subside. She must sound so boring. ‘So, um .. what do you do? I know you said you worked in a bank or something –’

‘Oh, it’s not that interesting,’ he laughs, ‘it really isn’t. I work for Permanent TSB, and I spend most of my time sitting at a desk.’ He shrugs, then takes a sip of his drink and smiles ruefully at her. ‘As you said, it puts bread on the table.’

‘That’s what it’s all about these days.’

‘Especially with the rental market being the way it is…’

‘God, I know. André and I managed to get our place a couple of years ago, just before things got really bad. Luckily, our landlady is really nice. She doesn’t want to raise the rent just yet, but –’

Please tell me you’re not going on about the fucking house market right now,’ André groans, overhearing their conversation. ‘What are you, fifty?’

‘Speak for yourself. Mark and I were just about to have a fascinating discussion about the ins and outs of tracker mortgages,’ Sarah retorts.

‘I bet Mark is one of those annoying people who knows what a tracker mortgage is,’ Jack chimes in. He glares accusingly at Mark, who laughs, hold his hands up and admits, ‘I am.’

‘That’s not fair,’ André exclaims. ‘Tracker mortgages are meant to remain one of the great mysteries of the world.’

‘You understand something that mere mortals never will,’ Jack adds. ‘It puts you on a totally different plane to the rest of us.’

‘It’s my job to know about them. What can I do?’

‘Get another job, Mark,’ Sarah jokingly advises him. ‘That’s clearly the only thing that will be good enough for these two.’

‘Clearly.’ He beams at her, and she – blushing slightly – holds his gaze for a moment, then lowers her eyes to the table.

✭ ✭ ✭

‘This weather is ridiculous, André!’ she yells, over the relentless rainfall and the honking, angry traffic of city centre Dublin. More than once, she has nearly been knocked over by people racing down the street to get indoors as quickly as possible. ‘Remind me, why did you get me to come out tonight, of all nights?’

‘So that you and Mr Lover Boy could get it on, of course.’

‘Oh God. We’re not going to get it on…’

‘Hmm. Not tonight, maybe.’

‘And he’s not my lover boy.’

He turns around to wink at her. ‘Don’t you get all coy with me, Sar! There’s potential there, right?’

She shrugs and rolls her eyes, but can’t stop a small smile from creeping onto her face. She liked Mark. She enjoyed their conversation. Perhaps something could happen between them, given a bit more time. For now, the most she can say to André is, ‘maybe.’

‘Ha! I knew it.’

'Yeah yeah, enjoy your little gloat,’ Sarah retorts. Just then, she sees their bus in the distance, turning onto the street. ‘Shit! Come on André, we have to run.’

Sort:  

Wow, here I am on a return cycle and come across a story to watch for. You have it written so smoothly, it made me feel the story come to life. I look forward to more of them.

Amazing start! Thanks for being upfront about the word count. I don’t think I saw you in the November madness discord. Here’s an invite if you want to join.

https://discord.gg/zqqX5FT

Posted using Partiko iOS

Thank you very much, @ntowl. 😊 I'll investigate the Discord group properly later on today – just trying to finish some non-NaNo work at the moment (I'll have to make sure my professional life doesn't go down the toilet this month, somehow 🙃😂).

It's not very believable though as a story. Why would anybody want to go out with a person from offaly....!!! 😎

Apart from that I really enjoyed it and the characters that you are starting off with. You managed to give us a fair bit of insight into them from the post.

Posted using Partiko Android

😂😂😂
Fair point, @niallon11. It is possible that he's from Westmeath, though – is that any better? 😝 I'm glad you enjoyed the story!

Slightly better but not by a whole lot. At least you didn't say leitrim. Now that would have been totally ridiculous. 😥

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh no, we can't be having that! 😝

How delicious it is to find an easy to read non-fiction that is still interesting!. Sarah does bring back memories of a friend from my early college years. Let's see how this progress.

Thanks @dranuvar! The post above is fiction, but it's great that you enjoyed it. I look forward to seeing how the story develops as the month goes on. 😃

Hi aislingcronin,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

This is admirable and engaging, friend.

@aislingcronin, good story for your first effort and I love it. I could feel the awkward moment when you felt the conversation gone dried in front of a person you like. It very thoughtful of Andre to stay put.

Now i wondering how would you continue the story if you plan so. Will mark and sarah become a couple, and I hope you continue :p

Thank you very much for your kind words! Yes, they do get together eventually. 😊

yay @aislingcronin, this is what i want. I am a romantic person. When i read story like this, I would like it in a happy ending. Oh yes, thank you for visiting my post. Hug hug

It's great that you also started contributing to NaNoWriMo. I was considering it too but I have some visitors in November and many appointments so it would be very stressful. I will leave it for the next year :) I like that you are honest and don't count the words that you wrote before :)

This is a very good beginning of a love story. Somehow I feel there will be more people involved than just Sar and Mark. Does she maybe have some feelings for Andre? And what about Andre? Isn't he trying to make a couple of her and Mark just so that he doesn't need to admit his feelings towards her?

I can't wait to read more!! :) With writing like this, I'm sure you'll quickly get to 50000 words. I like how you describe people so that we can picture them in front of us. I also enjoy their conversations and feel a little bit awkwardness on Sarah side. It's very easy and enjoyable reading :)

Thank you for sharing! Good luck with the challenge!

Thank you, @delishtreats. It definitely wouldn't feel right to me to lie about the words I wrote before November kicked off. I want my final tally to be an honest reflection of the efforts I made this month. Even if I lied about it here and nobody else knew, I would still know, and it wouldn't sit well with me. I'm so glad you enjoyed the story.

Oh no, André is actually gay! Sorry, I should have included a link to the previous post I've done on Steemit, explaining the friendship. There's a backstory here that directly precedes this story – in that post, Sarah and André are on their way to the night out I describe above. This idea I'm working on for #NaNoWriMo is based on a novel idea that's been knocking around in my head for quite a while now, and I've written about all of the characters involved on Steemit a few times before. I should probably do a post just briefly explaining the backstory of each character, and provide a link to it in future posts, to eliminate readers' confusion. 😝

I'm the same. I could not lie but I know there are many people who would do it without blinking and they would say that we are weirdos for not doing the same :)

Oh!! This is a shocker now! I wouldn't expect him to be gay :D

Well, yes, it would probably be good if you summarize it so that a reader who didn't follow the stories in the past will be able to understand it :)

Thank you for getting back to me :)

What an exciting and interesting beginning of a love story! I am sensing love triangle with Sarah, Mark and Andre with what seems an unspoken part from Andre. I have a feeling that Sarah and Mark like each other which seems a little obvious to Andre. Sensing that, Andre tries to tease Sarah while keeping his feelings to himself.

And ahhh... It looks like I'm guessing too much. The next chapter sounds like something to look forward to. 😊

Oh! I love your prose. I knew I would, just from the snippets I've caught over the past week. I really felt like I was standing in that club... practically could even taste the atmosphere of it. And the dialogue rings so vividly true. Beautiful work, can't wait to read the next part!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95