It's Nanowrimo Month! Why Is Nanomwrimo A GOOD Thing?

in #nanowrimo7 years ago (edited)

Nanowrimo is a writing contest that happens every November. The idea is to create a novel with 50,000 unedited words in one month.

I did it with my first book in 2015 and completed it. I am glad I did and here's why it is good for any budding writer.

Nanowrimo has received a lot of criticism by some who consider it encourages anyone to write a book and fling it out there without any real thought, creating a flow of rubbish writers with no real writing credentials. 

WHAT UPPER GARBAGE!

It creates a flow of budding writers. Anyone has the ability to write a book regardless of the editing or English writing ability. What Nanowrimo does is feed the creativity of individuals to ignite the writing bug. Editing and everything comes afterwards, whether you do it yourself or rope in a professional.

The other thing it does is help keep you to timescales. YES THAT IS IMPORTANT because if you want to write books you will have to create timescales for your own work load. Including keeping editors and publishers happy, but also ensuring they keep to your timescales too. You don't want to release a book without a final finished copy!

So if you want to write a book and want an incentive then it's not too late, but currently they are 5 days in so you would have to get a wriggle on. They do offer prizes, have a look and see what this years are!

Oh and don't worry, no-ones gets to see your work but you. 

Here is the link.

Nanowrimo

Follow me if you wish on the links below...Or visit www.aubreyfoxbooks.com to see my other categorised blogs or to buy my books!

Amazon  Instagram  Goodreads  Linkedin  Youtube  Twitter  Facebook  Pintrest  
 


Sort:  

I wish to participate hopefully :)

You should do it! It's great because gives motivation. Join the forums too for encouragement :-)

Thanks. I have lot of short stories to tell. I am into horror and thriller fiction :)

Me too! Well more supernatural thriller i have just published my first novel!

very nice post and i vote you and follow you please follow me back and vote my posts please

Congratulations @aubreyfox! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thank you for sharing, I have never heard of it. I think it's a great idea. It forces one to face any fears or blocks head-on and provides a sense of success with a finished book ready for editing. Re-steemed

Thank you my dear. It's a great initiative!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.031
BTC 61560.41
ETH 2894.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61