Life, Health, Publishing & NaNoWriMo

in #nanowrimo5 years ago

Life is still full of stress, but things are looking up as this year of hellishness wraps up. My husband has a few businesses (all cannabis related) and his health seems to finally be more stable, so that is easing up my own stress a bit. I tend to get horribly hermit-like when things get bad and I guess that has been the reality of my life for the last 8-9 months. I get tired of having to say "Ugh, I'm having a stressful time" but I guess that's just life.

Anyway, for once in my life, I'm sticking with something and continuing to pursue writing as an income. I need (AND I MEAN NEEEEED) to really figure out ONE genre and stick with it, but I haven't found it yet. :( I can't seem to get inspired to write in the same area twice in a row. It would help tremendously with being able to sell/write series and whatnot, but sheesh, it's hard to convince my brain to do that.

I'm getting ready to do another NaNoWriMo. I hope to write another romance that will take place in the same town as my Christmas Romance Merry's Christmas Miracle

MerrysChristmas2widebanner.jpg

The Christmas Romance was Book #3 Published in 2019 (and more getting ready for 2020!)

If I was following the 'rules' then I would have stuck with one genre, but I'm really crappy at that as of yet. I'm just proud of myself for writing and finishing something.

I am also starting a Fantasy Series with my husband. I have book one about 1/2 way done, a prequel-novella done and am hoping to finish up at least one of those books during November as well.

otherbooks.png

This is the book that I wrote in two weeks for NaNoWriMo last year.

ProofInHand.jpg

Now, I'm just fighting writer's block. I guess it's time to go back and do a few freewrites again to get my creativity flowing again!

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Good luck ( and don't forget to have fun too! ) with NaNoWriMo. I am trying it out for the very first time. Have done loads of other creative things in the past ( mainly filmmaking ) but never managed to get even close to finishing a novel. This time, inspiration struck me on Halloween. Yes, I started a day early ( don't tell anyone ). As a matter of fact, I was only reminded of NaNoWrimo after this first day of writing :>)

I couldn't find many people partaking in this ( and am living by myself in a Portuguese mountain town - talking about hermits ), but you seem to be one of them ( searched for #nanowrimo on Steemit ). Who knows, perhaps we can motivate each other just that little bit to make it over the finish line... ;>)

All the best,

Vincent

I don't get on steemit enough anymore, but I spent most of November writing up a storm. I actually wrote my first full-length novel last year for NaNo, so it was a big boost to try again this year! I hope you had fun.

Found out you made it to 200k!
That is crazy ( extremely impressive ). I was in a chat group with Portuguese nanowrimo contenders and one of them reached 75k, the rest barely made the goal ( like me ) or didn't come close. You also seem to write extremely fast, which makes me wonder if you're a planner?

I guess it also makes a difference if you write in your first language ( I'm Dutch but almost bilingual ).

Anyhow, thanks for getting back to me and hurrah for all the progress you made! :>)

I'm definitely writing in my native language, which helps. I can't imagine trying to translate, too! I write fast, but I'm not a planner at all. Every time I try to plan, it makes me stall and freeze up.

Congratulations @byn! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 43000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 44000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest Meet The Stemians Contest - The mysterious rule revealed

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Now I see why I missed them - you didn't put them here. I'm so glad health has improved and writing is something you had oodles of time to do

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63701.54
ETH 3092.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87