Sort:  

@kaelci ooooh did I hear alternate medieval universe? Hahaha can't wait to see you construct the fantasy world!! 😊

You did indeed hear such a thing! 😊 Alternate medieval fantasy universe! Magic abound and fantasy creatures a-lurking. Will be my first time using dragons/fairies/elves/etc... and not in a conventional manner.... could be interesting; could be a disaster. 😁

We will triumph together!! :)

I plan on doing NaNoWriMo, using a concept I thought of quite a while ago, but have at this moment not written anything of. I'm confident I can finish the first draft, and I probably will be self publishing a polished and edited version at some point. The working title is Supercide, and I'll just let everyone wonder what kind of story that might be. :)

Good luck!! :D Confidence is key!

This little endeavour will hopefully rebuild my own confidence... I've had a lot of second-guessing, anxiety, and uncertainty with some works that I've done and now feel that I've ruined... while I aim to complete the 50k words this coming November and it would be great to get some working material, it's mainly to liberate my mind and stop over-thinking every little thing!

"Supercide"... I'll be honest - my first thought was Superhero Genocide! The war is on, and Superman is going down! ;)

I tried NaNoWriMo two years ago and got close to finishing the WIP – it’s still stalled at roughly the same point. [sigh] Good luck with your round this time!

In my opinion, the first two thirds is always the easiest part. The final third of a story is the most difficult point, because all the little threads need to get wrapped up and you are no longer able to introduce new elements or characters.

In one of the first drafts I had for another story, I accidentally introduced like a dozen new characters right near the end, in the last several chapters. Suffice it to say, that was a bad idea and quickly scrapped.

I can usually keep the plot organized all the way to the end. Usually, my problem is getting the full novel-length story. I have two would be novels in the works. One of them is hung up in one scene because I need legal advice on handling the subtleties of a court scene and lawyers won’t give that advice for free. I’m struggling with the getting the other one to an actual full-length novel word count. Short stories and poems seem to be my forte, I guess; but, book publishers aren’t interested short stories or poems.

As for characters, I try to create the backstories for the characters at the start, and roughly outline or make notes on the story and where those characters are introduced. While I’m developing the backstory, I start by sitting down with my book of baby names for monikers with meanings that fit a character’s personality. Once I have the name, I try to envision the character and sketch or draw them. Once I have names and faces, the characters kind of write their own stories.

Thank you! :)

I usually get stalled somewhere in stories... this time though, since I will be with the freewriters, "stalling" won't be an issue per se, but I might end up with a lot of things that don't make sense ;) and that's ok! That's just my brain. Things can be re-arranged and made more sensical at a later date if it turns out I actually like the story.

That sounds like my journals. I jot down ideas, then, at some later date, go back and look at pages of those ideas and let them inspire stories or poems or artworks.

Congratulations @kaelci! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - Steem Power, Followers and Following added

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94