Laura's lost parents

in #narrative6 years ago (edited)


Laura lived with her grandmother for years. Ever since she was one years old, someone probably her parents dumped her on this old lady's door step. She is not actually her grandmother in blood, but she calls her that. Mrs. Grenade is what her colleagues calls her.

This is not the first time Laura has woken up from the middle of the night with tears and fright shaking her out. She has dreamed of a couple who was about thirty years older than she is, storming into a small grey house and dumping her by the door. This memory has been occurring for almost ten years now. She opened her eyes and saw the lights gleaming in the darkness, where she seems bemused. She could hear the neighbors snoring from next door, while her grandmother seems to be knitting next door. So she walked out of her bedroom where she did most of her hibernation.

"Ah, you are awake. How did you sleep, it is 4:00am in the morning, pretty early my dear," Grandma said with her smile aiming rather at the window. " I slept fine, you know the casual nightmares that I had since I was a child," I replied tryin get my strength back after that dream, I never felt so weakened after that. "I am making a woolly coat for you, next year you would be fifteen, and I bet you will grow a lot," she said with her warm eyes glittering with kindness.

"Thanks," I said, the words just floated out of me like a lost brain. I stayed with my grandma for the rest of the night asking random questions, mostly to do with the dream I had. The most implausible thing about it is when tears were temperamentally found in my eyes. I still don't get how this dream involves any point for me to be upset. This makes no sense, so I just asked Grandma something I always wanted to ask. "How did I come here. Like how did I come to your house in the first place?" I asked.

Grandma seems stiff, like she seems just as awkward as I am, I thought terminal danger might come such as getting kicked out. But instead she took three deep breathe and answered with casualty "I don't know. When I opened my door you were already out here, we don't know what happened to you before this," she answered. "So someone must have send me here. Like are there anyone who gave birth to me?" I asked. "Well yeah, I suppose you probably had parents. But I have no idea what happened to them, anyway I am looking after you," she replied.

I didn't want to ask anymore, before she thinks I want to move to a new home. Instead I walked out, just about the way out I turned around and said again. "You have to tell me this. I have been wondering for ten years and this is getting too much," I suppose my anticipation broke my politeness. "Well, your parents did have another child, you were a twin. One of you had to go and you were send here by someone else," she replied with her face twisted in a smile. "So, you are with me now, but that is alright, because I am sure we can have just as much fun," she said with confidence.

I knew she was being benevolent, but I still want to meet my parents. And the girl that I wanted to take revenge over would be the twin that stayed, they ditched me rather than her. "When can you be more beneficent and come over, I am telling both you and Anna," I could hear my grandmother talk to he twenty six and five years of daughters. "We have other things to do," I could hear Mary, the elder one reply.

" I have expounded my wills, this is it. I have to see my sister Mary before it is too late. We have got a sister interview," Anna yelled in the phone. I could hear her monotone sister, Mary telling her what to say. Soon my grandma could not take it anymore and had to shut the phone down. "I think my daughters are totally over me this time. they just won't come over and see me," my grandma told me. "I am sorry granny. I know Mary, Anna and Jake can be extremely exclusive. Her twenty three years old son is just as stubborn as her daughters.

"I have to go now. I will see you after school," I replied and kissed my grandmother on the rosy cheeks very sweetly. She kissed me back with her lips stuck on my cheeks and made a painful electric shock. Then I walked towards the school, just as I headed towards the park where the school is over it and crossing the roads. I saw a couple, not just any sort of couple, but they looked so alike to me. I have got a mixture of brown and red hair, big eyes and small eyebrows.

The man had brown hair and bushy eye brows. His nose were pointed just like mine, the woman had red hair and her eyes are just like mine, huge and just as brown as chocolate. Her lips were thick like mine and her skin has freckles, which I don't have. Just in between came a girl about my age, which is fourteen. Her hair was just the same color although her's is a little more red than it is on the brown side. Her eyes were huge and super brown like mine. Her nose somehow ended stubby, but her skin didn't have freckles.

Even her lips looked exactly like mine, the only thing different about her and my appearance would be the nose, and the slightest difference of hair color. She looked at me like somehow she got electrically shocked. The mother came next to her and prevailed her off. She keeps glancing back as they walked towards the car. The man kept on turning is eye brows up and down while the woman looked like somehow she made something she didn't.

This whole thing made me wonder for a the rest of my education time. There, of course did not have an explanation to it. The way how things seem to occur in such a peculiar angle. The couples really looked like me if combined, so does the girl. I really wonder where she goes to school. And if so, why did she keep on glancing back at me while they walked off.

Most importantly, something I have always been wondering ever since, is that: What have the woman been whispering to the identical girl while they walked off?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66569.64
ETH 3235.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.31