New day at new school

in #narrative6 years ago


I am ready for my first day at senior school. We moved from North West Girls College to this new college called Lassie-Satan College. I was on my first day to school, my fifteenth birthday just past yesterday so I will be no longer a dependent young woman. "It will be fine," I kept on repeating to myself. I wore the collar with red and black striped blazer over my knee length skirt. Underneath all these would be my black shoes that all students both boys and girls were compulsed to wear.

On my first day, my mum drove me to school with the most unexpected silence. "Want me to stride in with you?" Mum asked with her lips pursed like usual. "No thanks, I think I will be fine with going in by myself," I replied with the most duress move, as I walked out of the car. As I got into the school, it feels so isolated. Everywhere seems to be people and they were discussing their own topics without even noticing that I was new, in fact some of them just rushed past knocking all my books on the floor. They just shouted at me as I got up in excruciation "Watch it, kido!" I couldn't believe what I just heard.

As I walked into my class following the compass that the principle gave my parents during their orientation day. I realized that the school seems to have a much different structure than it already has. I saw a boy who seems to be out of the group, I got over and asked him the way to my class. "It is near the first aid, then you turn left," he told me. I followed him as he leaded me to my class. I entered the most contradictory class of all time. We had math first and I realized most of the students were not listening to the teacher.

"Hi, you must be Jenna. Welcome to our school and this is your math teacher Mr. Gradient. Grab and seats and listen," he said offering me a hand but I said I will be fine with my own. I sat next to a group of girls who seems to be talking about their makeup rather than the teacher. I heard boys from about two stacks away throwing sticks at each other. The teacher seems to be careless no matter what the class does to each other. In fact at one point some boys and girls stood up and kissed each other on the lips standing on the table. Everyone else apart from me laughed.

After math we had to move to the next class for history. I determined it would be the best to follow the rest of my class. Before I knew it, I was trapped by three girls who doesn't seem like the type of students that would be fascinated in education. One had a ring in her nose with blue hair, while the other two had their hair pink and purple with all sorts of stripes. All three of them had their hair in a long ponytail. They didn't even wear school uniform for some reason, and managed to avoid the teachers.

I knew them from my class as I first entered the math class, they were from my class and I knew it. "Hi, you must be that Jenna idiot," the girl with pink hair and brows piecing said. "Yes, I am Jenna Aves," I replied sounding polite but offended. I tried to dodge out of their way but they were much taller than I was. "Who are you and why did you bother coming to our school?" asked the blue haired girl who had the nose piercing. "I came from North West Girls College, our family moved due to some reasons," I said. The three of them gave a loud and understood sneer. While the purple hair whispered something to the blue haired piercing one.

"We will let you go, but next time if we see you out here again it will be your neck," the blue haired one said. All three of them nudged me in the abdomen while they walked out. My books fell to the floor with a sudden collapse of hallucination. I came to class late, it was awkward because they were all looking at me, this time the class seems much more quiet and the teacher seems to be more strict on their expectations. "You are late! Jenna, the knew girl, do you know what class means?" The teacher said asking me in a mocking way. "Yes, I am so sorry. You see three girls tried to block my way," I tried to explain.

But the teacher cut through by introducing me to himself. "My name is Mr. Cape. I am your history teacher," he said. He offered me to sit at the front of the room, everyone bursted into laughter apart from me. I thought that was unreasonable but not daring to argue on my first day at this new school. "Jenna, you will be starting on page one while we are on page twenty three. You have missed out several classes," he said. I tried to tell him that I have been learning history at my old school, but I decided it is best to be quiet incase more people start laughing at me again.

After history, we had a break. Two girls one with blonde and the other with orange hair came in to my class. "Hi, I am Samantha and this is Liliana," introduced the girl with the blonde hair. The other girl seems to be reluctant about talking to me so that the first one said the most. I got to know that they were new but didn't just first meet each other. But Liliana kept on whispering to Samantha constantly.

At the end of the day, after English, science and Tech, the only thing I could ever want next is to be out of this school sooner and faster. My parents thought this school would suit me, but it actually does the contradictory job!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60853.02
ETH 2904.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62