Simple, Safe Gripe Water

in #naturalbaby7 years ago

IMG_3664.JPG

Ever checked out 'Gripe Water' at the grocery store? The ingredients are SHOCKING! Polysorbate 80, Sucralose and/or Glucose Fructose which is actually how Canada labels High Fructose Corn Syrup (HFCS), Propylene Glycol, Alcohol etc. They expect you to give this to your newborn baby!!
It. Is. INSANE.

So, after reading those ingredients I set out to create my own. I found a few recipes online and they all have some of the same ingredients, Dill, Fennel, Chamomile, Ginger.

IMG_1564.JPG

I got a big bunch of freshly harvested Dill from the garden, and because I have none growing, I bought a box of organic chamomile tea, some fresh organic ginger and found fresh organic fennel at the local organic market.
I also got a bit of fresh Turmeric to throw in with it.

IMG_3665.PNG

I filled my biggest pot with filtered water from my Big Berkey, brought it to a nice boil, then added all ingredients, the veg roughly chopped and the tea bags opened and sprinkled in. I let it boil about a half hour, then let it sit several more until it cooled, you can even leave it overnight if you're up cooking at midnight like me! LoL

IMG_3663.PNG

Once cooled, I blended it up then finely strained it. I tried using my nut bag but there's too much pulp so I just made a big mess. A fine mesh strainer works great, then cheese cloth if you want to get it nice and clear.

My next step is what separates my recipe from the rest: FREEZE IT! Pour your gripe water into ice cube trays, freeze, then pop into freezer bags. When your little one has an upset tummy or is just not feelin' 100%, boil the kettle, throw in two cubes, add a bit of raw organic honey or maple syrup, maybe a lemon slice, and fill with water. The best part is because it's frozen the cubes cool the water to a PERFECT temperature for little ones! I've often poured it into a bottle for my young babies too!

My kids love this stuff and it really helps their upset tummy or fussiness without dosing them with dangerous additives, preservatives or alcohol.

Happy Tummy, Happy Baby!

If you enjoy my posts I'd love to get a vote in the Six of the Best contest! Just click the link below and upvote my comment at the bottom.
Thanks so much for reading! 💙

https://steemit.com/minnowsupport/@accelerator/six-of-the-best-map27-minnow-contest-vote-now-win-upvotes

Sort:  

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @theneohippy to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

To enter this post into the daily RESTEEM contest, upvote this comment! The user with the most upvotes on their @OriginalWorks comment will win!

For more information, Click Here!
Special thanks to @reggaemuffin for being a supporter! Vote him as a witness to help make Steemit a better place!

Pretty soon babe!! :)

My friend it is amazing gripe recipe, the chamotile and ginger is amazing try to afd pepper fat here it is the name fat pepper or pimienta gorda o de castilla, it is good topic i never heard about freeze the water for gripe sounds great to only boiled the water and drink for feel better from a gripe best regard. @galberto

My kids really love the flavour of this drink as well! Which is a plus since it helps their tummies so much when they need it! :)

I've never even heard of gripe water before, that's very cool. Thank you for educating me!

No problem! I had heard of it from friends with babies before I had my own and they recommended it, I had no idea it was such junky ingredients in commercial brands though until I went to pick some up and checked it out!

I used to sell gripe water in my store. Then it was banned from being imported for a while and people went crazy!! I never understood why they didn't just make their own!
Great recipe and post!! Resteemed :) And upvoted of course.

Thank you!
It's really easy to make, I think people have gotten to a place in their minds where if it doesn't come from a package and the government doesn't recommend it then they don't trust it, which is the opposite of how we should all feel!

Agreed!! If people knew what all can be in mass-produced food, they would always choose to make their own!

Absolutely!!! 💙

I have a great doctor who is quite supportive of our natural lifestyle and I remember asking him about it before doing it, he was SO overly unconcerned it was funny :)

I've got to admit, I like your ingredients better!

Haha thanks me too!! Pretty easy to find or grow as well :)

Congratulations @theneohippy, this post is the sixth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Newbie account holder (accounts that hold between 0.01 and 0.1 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by newbie account holders during this period was 1765 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $1155.36. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

Wow that's awesome!! Thank you!! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64344.02
ETH 3142.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01