You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Complete Guide to creating an Alchemical Spagyric Tincture of CBD-Flowers!

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

Great guide :)

Have you ever dealt with an impurity while crystallizing your salts that you couldn't seem to get rid of? My Salt almost -always- come out with a yellow tinge to them, regardless of the plant. As I go through repeated calcinations to further purify the salts, the yellow never really goes away and turns the water golden yellow. Robert Barlett of the Spagyrics institute mentioned that it may be something in the psyche that is interfering with further refinement of the Salt. Just curious if you've ever experienced something similar?

Sort:  

@alchemage What do you use for calcination? I have found what has helped tremendously is using a propane/butane Torch/Burner for the final stage of burning the ashes.

I have had a few materials that seemed to be a bitch to get to the proper whiteness, but I have a feeling that has more to do with the density of the material.

What are the temps you use to calcinate? I have found if I evaporate and the salts are not clean, if I calcinate them while they are still in the dish that i crystallized them in then the parts that are not exposed to the flame tend not to burn properly.

So what I do is I scrape them out, grind them to a fine powder and then put them back into a crucible and use the torch (careful the "wind" it produces can blow the salts away) to calcine them properly.

You have to be careful though using the torch, since it reaches about 1200°c at max output at the top of the flame which is too much. Keep it on a low level and do not create a hotspot, but use something to carefully stir the salts around while burning them.

You will normally notice many bits and pieces blackening, if done properly you'll end up with pretty white salts.

That is not to say psychic interference doesn't play a role, those times when I did my salt works and I was not in the most relaxed mental state, I usually end up with a damn long process of washings, so I believe that does play a role, whether that is consciousness affecting the experiment, or the less ideal mental state causing one to be slightly more sloppy and less sharp with the process I do not know.

But I feel you!! have had some experiences like that, and it was a gruesome process, but I think those moments we are also working on some heavier stuff within ourselves, so if we do manage to reach whiteness there is a release from whatever was creating the mental/emotional fog :)

And Thanks brother for the heads up :)

I use a propane torch to get the ashes down to a blackened mass and then move to using a propane stove-burner to finish the process. I don't calcine further in the evaporation dish either, I grind them in the evap dish and then move them to the steel bowl again, heating with the propane burner.

I have fused the salts once in the past using a torch at the end, so I tend to stay away from that heh. Regardless, when I do the repeated calcinations, I see no further blackening, just the salts getting slightly lighter each time, even when they become light to where no yellow is visible, the water tinges golden yellow. The more white the salts become, the less opaque the yellow water is though.

I've spent some long hours do calcinations, and I tend to do meditations while working as well - so I certainly have been aware of deep psychological turmoils that have been soothed as I work the physical processes. Spagyric work is deeply entwined with the mind/body/spirit as we work closely with Sulfur, Salt, and Mercury.

Thanks for your response, I appreciate your insight. :)

@alchemage Oh one last thought that comes to mind. It would be interesting to check the mineral profile of those plants you have difficulties with, since I do believe depending on what types of trace elements they contain, some of the salts might actually tinge the water a slight off-color.

Or even mildly tinge the salts an off-white colour.

I have not worked with any type of seaweed, but they contain high amounts of iodine for example. Some plants very high in iron could technically tinge the salts as well into a slight reddish range. But this is more of a theory I have and not something I could conclude for sure yet.

I will be working on extracting nettles for its complex mineral profile, to actually just use the salts in a water based medium, as a mineral tonic. It is high in iron so will be interesting to see if that plays a role.

(Inspired by arabic alchemy in which they create so called ash elixirs)
(they sometimes use the leftover salts from a spagyric that is infused with small amounts of the sulphur and keep those after filtering out, to infuse them into water, BUT make sure you mix them at proportions so that your pH is in the Neutral Range, jsut a few drops under the tongue is apparently a miracle worker on stress, mental fog, anxiety etc.)

Very welcome very happy to share and enjoy the conversation with you ! :)

You know, I’ve always had similar thoughts about the mineral content perhaps altering the coloration of the salt. I too have desired to have the constituents tested. Alas, I’ll have to wait till I have my full lab developed after my degrees.

Another couple of questions..

Do you keep your tinctures warmed using perhaps a sand bath or electric blanket over the time of maceration? It is something that I do and have found greater success and extractions.

Also, I’ve done extensive research to the 40 nights of maceration and have always come up empty handed. The only thing I can find is repetitive use of 40 nights throughout multiple religious and philosophic texts. The only other thing I’ve found was that another more studied Spagyricist mentioned that was the time it requires for a complete transformation, but never clarified further. Have you ever understood the meaning of the 40 nights?

52478675_2086156764795754_6130075014019162433_n.jpg

@alchemage If we both had similar intuitions it just might be true ;)

I use this to incubate my salts and macerate! Between 37°-40°C.

I do believe it correlates with the act of transformation, but I have yet to find myself a clear indication about the reason for that exact number. If you do stumble on some interesting sources regarding it, it would interest me highly as well! But numerlogically I also see a connection personally to 13=1+3=4 which is Death in the tarot. 40 is the fifth iteration sequentially of the number 4, so perhaps it represents the death and transformation and purification of each element. If that makes sense?

The 5th iteration since it includes the quintessence or fifth element in that process.

But that is a personal theory due to my playing around with the tarot and numerology!

Perhaps this might be a time to study in your self and the time it takes for a specific thing you realise in yourself the need of to change. For a long time the problem is there, yet no solution presents itself. Then all of a sudden by having made space in yourself (Finishing other stuff any and everywhere you have begun projects) you have space to see one further of your own unnoticed behaviours. This would be the first day to mark down on your study calendar. Often you might just have a conversation with someone, and their behaviour might be, for an example I have had: A woman came talked to me that I knew only from seeing. Wasn't very communicative to others back then, and when she went to smoke, she would go clean her teeth afterwards and exclaim she doesn't like the taste of smoke. Then I made the cognition that I behave in such a way. I smoke tobacco indirectly, mixed with other substances but don't like the taste.
Scroll 3 months forward and I am buying real tobacco to smoke in my pipe. Just received the order. This represents for me an actual change. There were many single steps in between, like tasting tobacco from ravenking, getting a pipe, finding a book about sacred pipe use and smoking. This is a gradual unfolding of me becoming a person that works with an actual pipe. An actual being in a pipe helping me and vice versa, for that being the way to use it's power. Every 3 till 6 months further bits and pieces unfold, for me to piece together.
So those 40 days are about our own personal transformations, that you work out on the outside in a flask. Coded message to spell the rhythm of change.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63161.84
ETH 3061.57
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97