Exploring A Plant Medicine From Garden: About Ginseng That You Need To Know

GINSENG TOP IMAGE.jpg

PROLOG

We often do not realize the presence of medicinal plants in our own garden. Likewise with me, who initially did not realize the presence of Ginseng as a plant medicine in my garden. For me, Ginseng is an ornamental plant that adds to the beauty of the garden because it has purple flowers.

Then, there is a challenge from Natural Medicine to explore medicinal plants, with ginseng as one of the theme choices. READ HERE to find out the challenge.

So, I tried to explore ginseng as a plant medicine. I will share the other side of ginseng which is popular in my residence, Indonesia.

As an important note, the type of ginseng that I will discuss is Javanese Ginseng, (In Indonesia: Ginseng Jawa). Some of the same names to call this plant:

  • Som Jawa
  • Jewels of Opar
  • Talinum Paniculatum
  • Talinum triangulare
  • Som Kon



Introduction of Javanese Ginseng

IMG20190220181331.jpg

Javanese ginseng is very different from the Panax ginseng. A striking difference is the tuber produced. Javanese ginseng will have smaller tubers compared to Panax Ginseng.

Since childhood, I have known this plant as an ornamental flower and as a vegetable to complement various types of cuisine.

Ginseng is easy to grow and multiply even in a natural way, because very light ginseng seeds are easily carried away by the wind making it easier to grow by itself.




Say hello to the little one!

IMG20190402093302.jpg

Let's take a closer look at Javanese Ginseng. Luckily, I was able to take various sides of Javanese Ginseng from a small form to a large Javanese Ginseng.







Javanese ginseng that has just grown still has stems that are still small and have not formed clumps.




Javanese Ginseng Increases

The more it grows, we can see the difference in stem structure. The more it grows, the stem will look like type.

Then, there will also be seen plants that begin to form clumps. The stem is no longer single and looks more stems.

The color of the leaves that are young and old are actually the same. If you see the color difference in the pictures I share, it is caused by different lighting because I took the picture at different times and conditions.




Mature Javanese Ginseng

Increasingly growing, Javanese Ginseng is a plant that clumps, and semi-creeping.





Ginseng root which was originally small, then grew to become tubers that can be used for cuisine ingredients that are tasty and beneficial to health.

We can also see Javanese Ginseng begin to flower and have small yellowish seeds.




FLOWERS

In the village area, it is easy to find Javanese ginseng plants that form clumps and have beautiful flowers. Usually the people in the village plant Javanese Ginseng in the front yard of the house as ornamental flowers.

Even though they have small petals, these small flowers will also appear to dominate in the garden if they have formed clumps.



The position of the flower in Javanese Ginseng is higher than that of the main plant because it is supported by stems that grow higher than the position of the leaves.

In the stem that supports the flower, there are no leaves.




Seeds

Javanese Ginseng seeds are in the same position on flowers. The size is very small and yellow. The seeds will then be black and dry out.



Seeds that have dried are very light and easily carried away by the wind. You can plant Javanese Ginseng with the method of spreading seeds. You only need to spread the seeds that have dried in the place you want. If you don't want to add more plants in other areas, then let the seeds of the Javanese Ginseng spreading by the wind itself.




Roots and Tubers

In my garden there is a Javanese Ginseng which has been quite large for about half a year. I also tried to see the roots and tubers.

I usually use Javanese tubers for a mixture of instant noodles, as well as the leaves.

The roots are very long and penetrate to the ground and break easily. I tried to carefully take the tubers using a knife. Slowly, I dredged the ground.

Tubers of Javanese Ginseng have begun to appear when I've dredged the ground.





*This is the appearance of the roots and tubers of Javanese Ginseng that I have successfully extracted from the ground. Actually there are still other parts of the tuber, but left behind and broken in the ground.*




IMG20190331180132.jpg

Javanese Ginseng Roots and Tubers that I washed with water.




Javanese Ginseng As a Plant Medicine

Now, I will invite you to know the benefits of Javanese Ginseng as a Plant Medicine.

The dried Ginseng root is known for its many benefits. However, this time I will not discuss about this, I will discuss the side of natural medicine that is closer to my daily life, because I have experienced the benefits for myself.




Treating Boils

Boils are indeed skin diseases that often occur in the communities around where I live. I have experienced it several times. Usually the occurrence of boils because it consumes too much protein.

If it is not treated immediately, boils can swell more, and if the boil has not produced pus, then the boils will grow in other parts. But to get rid of pus is very difficult and painful.

Javanese Ginseng leaves contain flavonoids which can reduce swelling in boils and also as antibacterial.

IMG20190331174408.jpg

To treat boils, take the leaves of Javanese Ginseng to taste, then give a little water, and simply knead by hand until the leaves remove mucus. Then, apply to boils. Do it twice a day until the boils become deflated without pain.

Note: In some versions in Indonesia, to treat boils, Javanese Ginseng leaves are pounded with a mixture of brown sugar and then apply on boils.




Improving Appetite

Not appetizing is a serious problem that should not be underestimated, because our bodies need a lot of nutrients that are sufficient to grow and develop properly.

Improving appetite with leaves or tubers of Javanese Ginseng can be an option. The trick is to mix Ginseng leaves with other vegetables in a dish.

IMG20190220182758.jpg

How to improve my appetite:

Noodles are foods that are usually chosen by Indonesians when they don't have the appetite to eat staple food (rice)

That's why I often mix ginseng tubers and leaves into the noodle dishes.

Combine ginseng tubers and leaves that have been cut like you use vegetables to stir fry.

*This is my very, very simple dish*



Helps Boost of Breast Milk Production

To boost breast milk production after giving birth, people in the village usually use radishes, katuk/sauropus androgynus leaves, and young papaya. For those who have Javanese Ginseng leaves, they can mix these ingredients together with Javanese Ginseng leaves, then make soup or just to stir fry.




Other Benefits

There are also other benefits of Javanese Ginseng: to improve the quality of sleep, maintain lung health, improve blood circulation, increase vitality, and maximize central nervous performance which is believed to be able to prevent Alzheimer disease.

These benefits can be obtained in the same way by consuming ginseng leaves and or ginseng tubers as vegetable preparations such as soup, stir-fry, or salad.

GINSENG TOP IMAGE.jpg




CONCLUSION

That was about Java Ginseng and the benefits of this small plant. Indeed, Panax Ginseng has greater benefits for natural medicine. But, of course there is nothing wrong for you to plant Javanese Ginseng in your garden or front yard of your house. Especially for Indonesian people who are very familiar with this plant.

Javanese ginseng can also be found in other Asian regions. For those of you who have their own traditions in your area about using Javanese Ginseng as a plant medicine, please give me feedback in the comments below.

Hopefully my writing can have benefits, so you don't waste time for reading my posts.

Thank you so much for upvote and comment. Have a great day.

Keep growing with your confidence.

Keep healing with Natural Medicine.



HONARABLE MENTION

For supporters who make Our Steem Blockchain positive and continues to grow up:
@theycallmedan, @jaki01, @kobold-djawa, @redpalestino @nathanmars, @slowwalker, @singhcapital, @neoxian, @tatjanastan, @r2cornell, @canadian-coconut

Regards,
AnggrekLestari

  • A Part Of Natural Medicine Community

NATURE MEDICINE SIGNATURE.gif

Natural Medicine Series:



PHC-Footer-05.gif

Sort:  

So nice to learn more about Javanese Ginseng!! I like that it's common in gardens & wonder if it has some spiritual function to increase luck or health? I put this post forward into the c-squared curation channel for you.... hope it helps build your audience & support. 🌱💚

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for dong that - I was just about to put in the Hive as well!! xx

Thank you girl! 🌻

Posted using Partiko Android

Hello, @artemislives thanks for stopping by

About Javanese Ginseng, I never listened to the uses of the spiritual side.

Thank you so much for your support :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Hi @anggreklestari!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.016 which ranks you at #10725 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has not changed in the last three days.

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 359 contributions, your post is ranked at #109.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Great user engagement! You rock!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Awesome write up! I did a project back in college on ginseng, it blew my mind how versatile and useful of a plant it can be. I never paid much attention to the flowers though, I had no idea they looked so nice!

Yeah the flower looks beautiful.

But, the panax ginseng more powerful than this local ginseng.

Thanks for stopping by

Posted using Partiko Android

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

I had never heard of the Javanese ginseng. It looks like it will make a very nice ground cover! Isn't it great to have these natural medicines growing in our gardens!
Thanks for sharing ! I love to hear about the natural medicines from different parts of the world!
Unfortunately Javanese ginseng or any ginseng will not grow in our area - too cold. I'd love to invite ginseng into my garden!

We are also running our fortnightly competition for steem rewards, where you can explore a plant medicine. This fortnight's plants are mullein, ginseng and alder... Plus a wild card where you can choose your own! Find out more Here


50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡
Discord

Really great to have local ginseng in my garden and so easy for caring this plant.

Yeah, this is tropical herb. It's so hard to grow in cold.

Always happy to explore and share local plant medicine with others. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

I would love to grow this here but from what my understanding is, I'm right outside of the zone of where it would grow. We are near Raleigh NC area. Do you know of any tips that might make it worth a shot? I have a wooded swamp area and was thinking to build a hugel at the edge of the swamp and growing it there. I'd build it high up enough that it was not getting soggy wet. The micro-climate would help keep it cooler.....do you think it would work?

It's good if it keeps the plant dry so that the tuber doesn't rot. But the important thing is enough sunlight.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh I loved the fact you went for a local ginseng that is of use to you, and this post is so incredibly detailed with the photographs and your very clear writing. I had no idea about jawa ginseng! I'm glad the contest gave you the opportunity to explore something in your back garden as well - really impressive exploration!

What does it taste like? I now have a craving for noodles - maybe I'll make some for dinner, but I dont have the ginseng to go in them! Great post, @anngreklestari!!

The is sooo good for vegetable lover. :)

Thank you so much for support.

Posted using Partiko Android

here in America people have to go in the woods and risk life limb and bandits and poachers to get the ginseng!

Wild ginseng is so hard to find. Indeed. :)

Posted using Partiko Android

Awesome write up! I did a project back in college on ginseng, it blew my mind how versatile and useful of a plant it can be. I never paid much attention to the flowers though, I had no idea they looked so nice!

Awesome write up! I did a project back in college on ginseng, it blew my mind how versatile and useful of a plant it can be. I never paid much attention to the flowers though, I had no idea they looked so nice!

We have a nice ginseng here. The older stuff taht is 6 years old, we steam roots to make it red, then we drink it in tea. It is a way to stay healthy and live long.

The newer stuff maybe 1 or 2 years old, we put into a chicken soup called sam gye tang. It is a way to stay healthy and have power during your day.

I save the prettiest roots to put into a clear jar with alcohol. Ut looks nice and after a couple of years, it is an excellent drink.

I like ginseng. I never tried a tropical java variety before. I guess its healthy effects are quite similar.

Posted using Partiko Android

You should join in the plant challenge, @bitcoinskeptic, that @naturalmedicine is running!

I will look into the plant challenge, thanks.

Posted using Partiko Android

Before the roots 6 years old, my family and I can't wait to take its roots to be made into cooking. 😂

Thanks for stopping by

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64420.25
ETH 3150.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99