You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Garlic Makes you Suffer: An Alt View on a Great Healer (Part 1)

There's still so much we don't know about our bodies isn't there! I guess even reactions to foods can change depending on the make up of your gut microbiota at any given moment?

I knew about the FODMAP diet only because I am a health obsessive and veraciously consumed books and podcasts for a few years before realising it was getting a bit too much!

I went paleo after having stomach issues more and more regularly and that almost instantly sorted out the problem. I then went a bit mad and did ultra low carb for 9 months - 6 of which were great but then I went on a downward spiral until I hardly had the energy to walk up steps!!

I am similar to your husband in that I keep very fit but still get a bit of bloating although I have to say there is no real pain associated with it so I put it down to my bacteria "doing their thing" with resistant starch and other insoluble fibre.

Anyway I am glad you found the solution and it's great how one can purchase an app nowadays to tell us what we can and can't eat isn't it!

Sort:  

I know, the app is the best thing for us! We bring it out in the super market. Totally - it's easy to get obsessed. We followed so many diets before we finally got a solution for Jamie's problem. The bloat is real! The thing is, he's so lithe and lean, it becomes obvious, plus the pain.

I had the discomfort and pain when I just ate whatever I fancied, which included a lot of bread!

Paleo was a real eye opener for me and the funny thing was I found out about it not because I was looking for a solution to the bloating problem but because I got injured running and found out about barefoot running. I then came across a runner who was talking about paleo and that's when my obsessions started! :-)

Ah!! I like some paleo food, but harder for me with the amount of meat in the diet which I'm not uber keen on, and then hubby can't do a lot of vegie proteins like tempeh, so we have to find some balance. I always think a varied diet and moderation works for me, but I'm lucky I guess. I was raised vegetarian and very food aware, so that made a difference.

I no longer do strict paleo, just real food as much as possible now and I still feel great!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62397.62
ETH 3171.83
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77