You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: When Garlic Makes you Suffer: An Alt View on a Great Healer (Part 1)

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago

No way! Allergic to garlic! How terrible. I'm with you on the dosing garlic for everything. But this is very interesting. I didn't know about FODMAP. Half of my family is coeliac (brother, mom and mom-in-law, stepsons) I choose not to eat refined flour. But gluten is also in everything. You can't eat out at restaurants and it is awkward going to friends. But no onion or garlic (and so much else) that is really bad. Do you think there's a way of curing it? I know some people can now tolerate small quantities of gluten after a couple year on GAPS

Sort:  

I wouldn't know about the cure. For now we're doing these small things to help, and later we'll do more testing and see where to go next.

Gluten IS in everything - what a nightmare. Poor them - and poor my son's girlfriend Ella who has the same issue. We've just had a glutenfree bakery open here and it's a wild success - queues out the door! Jamie's okay with gluten, but not rye flour - my plain sourdough is fine for him thankgod.

More and more people are allergic to gluten. No wonder that bakery is a hit! I have found that the sourdough can be eaten even by some borderline coeliacs. It is the fermenting process which deals with the gluten (I believe) Sourdough is far healthier and more digestible to the gut than regularly bread.

Yes, thats my understanding too. Yay for fernented foods!! Jamie is okay with gluten but not so much with rye or soy. And soooo many bpught breads have soy in them!!!

People don't understand soy. They just hear "wierd non-meat must be healthy"

Oh yes... thats a whole other post!!

I looked into the whole sourdough thing and I am not sure where you are from but you have to be careful in the UK as the supermarkets sell 2 different types - one that is fermented and one that is a "cheat". So if you are buying it rather than making it make sure you read the label!

We're in South Africa. We are still a bit behind the times. It's make your own or do without

We have got very lazy in the UK as there is so much choice now. We can even get the same fruit all year round which just seems wrong :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 61974.94
ETH 3126.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.77