You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Known as "White Man's Boot" - Day 253 - Haiku - for @naturalmedicine's Contest, My Take on Plantain

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

I've GOT to learn to utilize these plants in my own backyard!
Are you self-taught (books, vs the classroom)? My niece took a one-year class to be an herbalist but during finals week, her mom ended up in the hospital, and my niece has yet to finish the paperwork to get her degree.
This is cool: Native Americans usually chewed the plantain leaves into a pulp before applying and binding them to the wound, making them even more effective than the leaves alone, as saliva carries additional healing properties of its own. Plantain is especially helpful in the case of wounds, Poison Ivy rash, insect bites, minor scrapes or burns.
You are such an incredible wealth of information!

Sort:  

I'm mostly self-taught, @carolkean, though I remember lots of nature walks with my grandmother during camping trips in the Rockies as a kid, and I've gone on several more since moving to Tennessee.

My initial period of deep dive studying about herbs was while I was in Luxembourg, at age 29.

I was there to do legal research, but a couple of times while walking in the woods I pointed out local medicinal plants, so in addition to all the legal casework, the banker I was working for started bringing me book on European herbs in English.

I've amassed a small collection of good herbal books over the years, been given a couple and inherited others, but although I'm an excellent researcher, I still consider myself to be pretty much a neophyte.

And I'm definitely a neophyte when it comes to medicinal and edible mushrooms and fungi. Too many poisonous lookalikes out there. There are only a couple of varieties that I'll bring home without having a mushroom identification book along.

There is just soooo much to know!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 67863.38
ETH 3708.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65