You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Warm Winter in Tennessee – Day 239 - Haiku - and growing Goji Berries

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

You grow your own goji? You're a far more ambitious gardener/herbalist than me! I totally identify with schizophrenic winters - you should patent that one! - and vixen calls in the night. They sound like screaming demons to me, unless I'm mistaking coyote screams for fox. Even the deer make some bizarre noise like the moaning of the damned.
GOOD LUCK with the goji!!!

Sort:  

Yeah, screaming demons, that describes it pretty well when they're close enough.

The first time I heard one was enroute to take in the goats, and she must have been sitting in the barnyard, just below where I was walking, and startled the crap out of me.

I grew up with coyotes and dogs, so I pegged the sound as most likely a canid, but I was still surprised to learn that it was a fox. They're loud as hell for their size!

Lol, deer moaning like the damned . . . yes indeed, and that one took me a while to identify.

As did one that huffed really loudly, as I walked down the back steps in the fog, until I mentioned it to my sister and she told me what it was. Which, with the zillions of deer around here, I've heard several times since.

As for schizophrenic winters, hey, it's the best description I've come up with so far. Bizarre in the extreme at times. ;-)

And goji, yeah, had to at least try them. Nice to try something new that doesn't require overwintering inside for a change.

The real test will be to see if it can survive the winters in our lot in New Mexico, which is at 8200' altitude, and is somewhere between Zones 2 and 4, depending on which source I've read. Tennessee should be a walk in the park by comparison.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64107.66
ETH 3148.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84