You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Entering My First Contest!

The lemon I'm using is essential oil, and only in a tiny amount, and truthfully, I actually use lemongrass more often than lemon. I've never had any issues with using either topically.

The only natural product I've found that made me sun sensitive is black cohosh, which is frequently touted as a natural remedy for anxiety and depression, but rarely if ever do they mention that it greatly increases sun sensitivity.

I used to live in Florida, and we frequently raced our sailboat, which was a highlight of my life. And I'm the type that rarely sunburns with or without any kind of protectant.

Long story short, we spent the afternoon racing, it wasn't even a particularly hot and sunny day, I used a 30 SPF sunscreen I'd used for years without issues, and basically burnt to a crisp. One of the worst sunburns of my life.

And the only thing different was that I'd been taking black cohosh capsules for about a week.

Never again. It's clearly not my friend.

So when you come out with your recipe book, you may want to at least mention that black cohosh is contraindicated for those who frequently spend time in the sun.

As for castor oil, the type I buy has little scent, so it's not a real factor.

Good luck!

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71082.84
ETH 3864.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.52