Natural Medicine - How to make a tincture (Part 1)

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)


How to make a Tincture

Well as always i want to say a massive thanks to everyone involved over @naturalmedicine not only has my confidence in posting grown but also my interest in and knowledge on natural medicine 😬

Horizontal rule


So this is a short post/video put together to show how to make a tincture, ill be doing a follow up video on bottling and use and posts into why i chose these specific herbs and vegetables.

In the video you can see me making the following tinctures
Sage Tincture
Garlic Tincture
Chilli Tincture


So what is a tincture, well.. and correct me if i'm wrong or its not the best description

A tincture is a liquid extract made from plants in this case, the benefits of the plants used are usually extracted in alcohol like the vodka i used They however can also be extracted in vegetable glycerine or apple cider vinegar if you want to go down an alcohol free route. Once made tinctures are easy and convenient to use and can potentially store for a very long time.

From my reading they can be very potent so care should be taken when using and can be fast acting as they can be readily absorbed into the bloodstream, something Ill go into a bit deeper in posts to follow

To summerise the video you will need the following;
A container to make the tincture in
Your desired herbs/materials to make the tincture with
Some high proof alcohol like vodka used in the video
Some time and patience

Step 1 - ensure the containers are clean, pick, cut or crush your materials to help them diffuse in the alcohol and place in the container.

Step 2 - fill the container past the height of your plant material with the alcohol.

Step 3 - seal and ensure that the a shaken vigorously daily for at least 30 days to aid the diffusion of the material into the alcohol.

Never made a tincture? Check them out as it could be a useful addition to your natural medicine cabinet

Are you a seasoned tincture maker? I’d love to hear from you, what's your go to tincture or your prefered method of taking them.

Upvotes, resteems and follows are great and truly appreciated. However a meaningful comment is worth so much more, don’t be afraid to say hello.

Until next time, all the best

DigitalDan


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Sort:  

¡Hola @digitaldan! El video esta increíble, es una forma fácil y sencilla de hacer la tintura de planta que necesites, en mi jardín tengo una mata, de sábila, y otra de toronjil, hago te de toronjil, siempre pongo, a secar las hojas, y las froto, bastante, hasta, que queda desecha, y listo, me gustaría hacer una tintura de la sábila, ¿Cómo sería el proceso? ¿Pongo a secar el cristal de sábila? o ¿Con sábila fresca? Si me puedes orientar te lo agradezco, un fuerte pero cariñoso abrazo. Ahhh otra preguntica, cuéntame ¿Cual fue tu sentimiento con el voto Curie? (sonrisa, risa, aplausos, brincos, yuuupy, waoo, etc)

#awesomediycontent
Love the idea of making my own tinctures, they are so expensive to buy and hey why not use the things we have in the garden to make our own #naturalmedicine. Great video looking forward to part 2

This is the first time I heard about tinctures and this video/tutorial is very helpful and educational. Will be sticking around for the rest of the videos. :-)

Hi @digitaldan, you edit a very good video on how to make the tincture. The video looks professional :) I first time heard of herbs tincture. May I know the purpose of these tincture? and what is the purpose of these tincture? I very interested in herbs remedy. It helps with health and do not have side effects.

If you visit any chinese medicine store, you would find snake or insects tincture :P. And we believe the longer the tincture, it more valuable. I have not tried any of these tincture before.

GREAT POST @digitalaldan I am a tincture lover - make them all the time!! SUCH a simple way to preserve and concentrate natural medicine. Funny I am just this morning researching how to make digestive bitters (after yesterday's beetroot thinking started that thought train....). :) Appreciating your input and wisdom.

I used to make alcohol-based elixirs when I had my practice. Great for drawing out alcohol solubles!

In TCM you’d use it when you wanted to add the properties of the alcohol to the formula to accentuate the Qi/Blood-moving action of the herbs.

The recipes I used were for formulas for things like PCOS, pain, arthritis, and so on.

My mentor gets people to soak herbs in brandy — not sure why, I’d think Vodka would be more neutral. I used to get medical-grade ethanol by the drum. 😉

Wow thanks for commenting @metametheus ive got so much to learn but looking forward to where the journey takes me 🙂 brandy sounds interesting may have to check it out

Posted using Partiko Android

This reminds me to get alcohol from Jamie's science department. What a fabulous video @digitaldan - you are a dab hand at these vids - more please!!! I think you've found your calling!! These are fabulous, fabulous, fabulous and so simple that I feel I might even start tincturing now!!

😊 Thanks really appreciate it. Got a few other ideas for videos that i want to explore as soon as i get some time. Alcohol and science sounds fun 😅

Posted using Partiko Android

Ahahahaha... especially when he puts on his lab coat....

Posted using Partiko Android

I have made a few tinctures in my time and really like the results.

My best success was with thyme to ease toothaches. I was having one tooth with constant pain at the gum line, and the tincture "cured" it within minutes. I was so shocked that such a simple thing could make that much of a difference. It was far superior to the chemical products I had been buying up until that time. A bonus was no yucky taste. I got used to the thyme flavor quickly and kind of liked it.

After I applied the tincture for several weeks religiously each morning and night, the pain stopped and has not come back for a few years now. This tells the power of losing your dental insurance and having to make do!

Thanks so much for commenting, ive got some thyme growing so ill have to get that added to the list of things to make, really glad it worked for you. All the best

Posted using Partiko Android

I hope it helps you too. I don't know if it will help any other pain, but it sure worked on my tooth :)

Hi digitaldan,

This post has been upvoted by the Curie community curation project and associated vote trail as exceptional content (human curated and reviewed). Have a great day :)

Visit curiesteem.com or join the Curie Discord community to learn more.

For some reason I thought that tinctures were thicker. It might be a language issue as well. I'm glad that I could see how these are made. I love natural medicine but I've never done something myself as I always used an excuse saying that I didn't have a garden and couldn't grow anything. For this you can easily grow for example sage in your kitchen and mix it with a bit of vodka. This is a great eye opener for me!

Thank you for sharing! I have enjoyed the video and I also liked the music. It fits the theme perfectly!

Have a nice Thursday!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66540.93
ETH 3186.50
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.11