You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Journalling Natural Medicines: Plantain

I enjoy eating narrow-leaf plantain (Plantago lanceolata), in salads when it's young and tender, and then in mixed cooked greens as it gets older. I freeze plenty of it, too, to eat during the off-season. It's a great plant, alright, especially because it's a perennial, so I can harvest a lot, and still it keeps producing. Enjoy your plantain seeds! That breakfast seed loaf sounds like a winner!

Sort:  

Oh yes I have been putting it in stews and soups too!! Great point. Freezing it is a great idea! Do you blanch it first? I was also thinking of drying it and making a wild supergreen powder!!

Yes, I blanch it. That means I lose a bit of the water-soluble nutrients in the blanching water. But there's so much goodness to start with, so I'm not bothered about it. Drying and powdering any of the great greens is a good way to go, too.

Exactly! Plus, you're also using an ingredient ready to hand, so if you lose some goodness, it doesn't matter. You haven't bought pasta. It's not wrapped in plastic. It doesn't have air miles. It's pure natural GOODNESS!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 70971.83
ETH 3830.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.41