The Celestine Prophecy || My Life After steemCreated with Sketch.

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)

lazy, sunday afternoon..png

My mum’s family were Catholics and my Dad, who was Hindu, converted to marry her. We, the kids were brought up Catholics. I embraced Catholicism wholeheartedly and with all my might and used to even have big arguments with Dad. He would tell me that Hinduism was the first religion with pride, and I’d get really upset to why he would entertain these sentiments. I think he enjoyed ruffling my feathers.

In my teens, I started having all these questions. Questions the nuns couldn’t answer, the Bible couldn’t answer, the more religious of my relatives and friends couldn’t answer. The more questions I asked, the more non-answers I got and that got me looking for answers outside that inner circle. It was not easy as I was riddled with guilt but the need to understand got the better of me.

lazy, sunday afternoon. 2.png

Fast forward into my young adulthood, I came across The Celestine Prophecy by chance. If I remember correctly it is the very first book I read outside of my believes. My then housemate who now is framily and the unofficial Godmother of my kids, was going to the bookstore to put in an order.

The store didn’t carry the book, not on their shelves because it was taboo but with a pre-order and a two week wait, it could be arranged. Two weeks later, I had a book that was the beginning of the rest of my life.

I was sceptical about what it could hold and gingerly got started. As I flipped the pages, sometimes rereading some sentences, other times whole chapters…. I kinda felt something shift in me. There were concepts and ideas that resonated with me.

lazy, sunday afternoon. 3.png

Even though it was/is fiction, a supposed novel; the writing style wasn’t inspiring and had come under heavy criticism, some labeled it as New Age waste of time, far fetched and lacking in conviction … However for me, the story got me thinking and exploring.

The Celestine Prophecy by James Redfield (1993) takes you on a journey of one man, told in the narrative as he tackles 9 insights found in an ancient manuscript in Peru from 600 BC. It is not religious but a spiritual journey, as the protagonist finds his way to the Divine.

♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥

The author’s summary of The 9 insights presented in the book & What It Meant To Me Over Time

Insight 1 : A Critical Mass

A new spiritual awakening is occurring in human culture, an awakening brought about by a critical mass of individuals who experience their lives as a spiritual unfolding, a journey in which we are led forward by mysterious coincidences.

For Me: I became aware of the situations, people, outcomes in my life. Even me writing this review of a book that I had read almost 3 decades ago, by chance coming across this post by @naturalmedicine, the call to action to share my experience... is a very good example for these "mysterious coincidences in the spiritual awakening."

Insight 2 : The Longer Now

This awakening represents the creation of a new, more complete worldview, which replaces a five-hundred-year-old preoccupation with secular survival and comfort. While this technological preoccupation was an important step, our awakening to life’s coincidences is opening us up to the real purpose of human life on this planet and the real nature of our universe.

For me: I started looking beyond my bubble. I got into the habit of allowing, giving space to more than what's on the surface.

Insight 3 : A Matter of Energy

We now experience that we live not in a material universe but in a universe of dynamic energy. Everything extant is a field of sacred energy that we can sense and Intuit. Moreover, we humans can project our energy by focusing our attention in the desired direction (“where attention goes, energy flows”), influencing other energy systems and increasing the pace of coincidences in our lives.

For Me: It made sense to me that everything was energy. Moving, entwining, creating. Later on, The Law Of Attraction hype didn't come as a surprise. The idea that we use energy within us to attract certain outcomes and situations made sense.

Insight 4 : The Struggle for Power

Too often humans cut themselves off from the greater source of this energy and so feel weak and insecure. To gain energy, we tend to manipulate or force others to give us attention and thus energy. When we successfully dominate others in this way, we feel more powerful, but they are left weakened and often fight back. Competition for scarce human energy is the cause of all conflict between people.

For Me:I saw the relationships that were disruptive and toxic as expectations were not met on either side. I searched for ways to find the peace within, and not give that responsibility to another. On the flip side, I was able to catch myself when I played the role of villain.

Insight 5 :The Message of the Mystics

Insecurity and violence end when we experience an inner connection with divine energy within, a connection described by the mystics of all traditions. A sense of lightness — buoyancy — and the constant sensation of love are measures of this connection. If these measures are present, the connection is real. If not, it is only pretended.

For Me:This was the journey. To findknow that connection. To embrace being part of a whole, of a collective.

Insight 6 : Clearing the Past

The more we stay connected, the more we are acutely aware of those times when we lose connection, usually when we are under stress. In these times, we can see our own particular way of stealing energy from others. Once our manipulations are brought to personal awareness, our connection becomes more constant and then we can discover our own growth path in life, and our spiritual mission, the personal way we can contribute to the world.

For Me:At the point of being introduced to this idea, it wasn't easy to admit to being responsible for "You". But it got me asking questions to understand. To acknowledge that I was playing victim, the blame game, focused on pointing fingers.

Insight 7 : Engaging the Flow

Knowing our personal mission further enhances the flow of mysterious coincidences as we are guided toward our destinies. First, we have a question then dreams, daydreams and intuition lead us toward the answers, which usually are synchronistically provided by the wisdom of another human being.

For Me:I consumed more, read more, watched more, understood more. This book had led me to so many more's over time. To be honest, sometimes, the more I know, the more I don't know, but I am good with it. I am perfecting the Go-With-The-Flow and not resisting as much as I used to:)

Insight 8 : The Interpersonal Ethic

We can increase the frequency of guiding coincidences by uplifting every person that comes into our lives. Care must be taken not to lose our inner connection in romantic relationships. Uplifting others is especially effective in groups where each member can feel the energy of all the others. With children, it is extremely important to their early security and growth. By seeing the beauty in every face, we lift others into their wisest self and increase the chances of hearing a synchronistic message.

For Me: I had my fair share of giving away my power to the other. Relationships that were intense and disastrous. A challenging childhood and more in my adult life. I was open to identifing them, working through them.

Insight 9 : The Emerging Culture

As we all evolve toward the best completion of our spiritual missions, the technological means of survival will be fully automated as humans focus instead on synchronistic growth. Such growth will move humans into ever higher energy states, ultimately transforming our bodies into spiritual form and uniting this dimension of existence with the afterlife dimension, ending the cycle of birth and death.

For Me:Again, a work in progress, but being mindful of my thoughts and actions has given me a sense of peace. There are moments I succumb to the conflicts within but over time, I have learnt to catch it and tame it before it gets overwhelming. And I guess this last insight will only be known when the time comes ;p

♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥

After this book I started attracting many situations with individuals who thought like that, who lived their lives with a purpose. And obviously that attracted even more situations like that.

Even here on Steem, I have found/gravitated towards individuals who are above the greed and manipulation of your average steemianJoe. I have seen them go above and beyond, their actions speaking without the words spoken. I guess one of the main reasons I stay because these individuals make the journey here worth more than the price of Steem.

I have read so many books/articles since. I have listened to podcasts and watched videos. It gives me a sense of calm in this chaotic world. I have my moments of course, where my fears get the better of me but I do catch myself before I am too far gone and pull myself out of the hole.

♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥گ♥

This is not a review of the book but more a review of my journey of finding Peace within. This book was the start line, and I have been running this marathon ever since. The best part is, I don't see the finish line. Maybe there is one, maybe there isn't but it's okay. I am appreciating The Journey.

Thank you @naturalmedicine for this challenge.

Source Of Book Cover
Source of 9 Insights

sign off GIF.gif

Images & Videos are from my Photo Gallery unless stated
Apps Used: Canva.com, ezgif.com, MojiPop
Sort:  

I have found/gravitated towards individuals who are above the greed and manipulation of your average steemianJoe. I have seen them go above and beyond, their actions speaking without the words spoken. I guess one of the main reasons I stay because these individuals make the journey here worth more than the price of Steem.

I have found a similiar experience here - it is the community I've been waiting for in online terms.

I loved this post, because it documented your personal transformation. That book had an effect on so many people. The criticism was that is was 'psychology for the masses' - it was easy to digest and simple to read. I can see that might be true, given the more complex spiritual texts I've read since. But at the time it was released, it changed so many minds - we were transformed and copies passed from hand to hand. It really was a special text.

We ARE still evolving and transforming and learning, all the time - via books, the internet, our interactions with others and the world, and our own observations of nature and the self. Life is about curiousity in many ways - without it, our journey halts and is stagnant. May you continue to journey xx

Thanks so much for sharing!

You are right....
The reason why it spoke volumes to me...

Thank you so much for encouraging me to do this
It was a great recap in so many ways for me
<33

Excellent post! I need to come back and read it again!

Thank you so much
I'm so glad you enjoyed it

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Excellent post.

I’m glad I got to read it.

Thank you so much @metzli <33

Curated for Creative Coin

I remember that book, created quite a stir in its time. Nicely written review
!SHADE 1

@shadowspub



Learn more about SHADE here

Join the fun promoting your post at Pimp Your Post Thursday. Win SHADE or SBI, make friends. Every Thursday in The Ramble

Hey @shadowspub
It sure did..

Did I just get my very first Shade?.......

I just came back from Steem-Engine.... and I did!!
Grinning ear to ear.... thank you so much
And say Hi to Hobo :D



Hi kaerpediem the SHADE tokens are on the way.
Thanks for sharing SHADE
To view or Trade SHADE visit steem-engine.com

Still grinning .... ear to ear :D
Thank you

Dam this book keeps poping up for me to the extent I found a copy in my rental. I need to read it for sure, didn't read all you're post as I don't want spoilers. The universe wants to to read this book for sure though. Thanks 💯🐒

Yes, yes!!
Read it already :D
Would love to hear your thoughts on it once you've read it :)

Will be sure to post something! I've a slow read and have to finish the book I am reading currently, so don't expect anything too soon. Will do dreckly though 💯🐒

hahahaha
I am also terrible at reading... these days
The reading is all being done here on Steem.... gahhhh
Tag me when you come around to it :D

Yep same problem, will be sure to if I remember 💯🐒

So cool to read about your experiences with this transformative text! I actually don't think I have heard of this book, so thank you for bringing it to my attention. It's awesome to see what inspires everyone!

Hey there
It was big in the early/mid 90s... I am guessing you were still a kid ;p

You are most welcome... yes, this book led me to so much more ...<33

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63815.31
ETH 3124.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99