Back to Society

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

Hello my Steemian brothers and sisters.

I completely quit using a mobile phone and internet simplifying and quieting down my life. I let my friends know that I would be reverting back to the old days when we would just drop by eachothers houses to see if the other was home. For maybe a week at the most I missed being able to google any idea or question that popped into my head, but i started appreciating the silence... I think of a phone as like an electronic Ouija board that can answer any question you might have and stores a backlog of these inquiries.

My laptop black-screened on me this past spring and I took it as a sign to steer away from electronics and internet. I use the simplest line of reasoning; the forest, the river, and their inhabitants... all natural things were created by the Great Spirit. Cities with their contents and technology with its invisable cell, wifi, and bluetooth signals penetrating everything; are mens concrete, plastic, and silicone rubbish with negative energy. I much prefer to surround myself with positive energy in a beautiful atmosphere made for us by the maker.

I had wanted to hike the Trail of tears this spring but during my technology break, I accepted a job offer and went back to work for the fed. My choices led me to living back in town and postponing my homesteading plans for a few more seasons. I plan to return to my side of the mountain in the Mississippi River Valley in February to start my cold weather crops and get my homestead back on track. The only plants I've been able to care for are my Nicotiana Rustica, the native Sacred Tobacco. These are special, truly sacred plants; I received the seeds from the Cherokee Seed Bank. It's of the worlds most nicotine potent strains of tobacco and to smoke it alone will make a person sick from the high potency. It needs to be mixed with barks or herbs to ingest, but can be used alone as a smudge stick. There are very specific and unique traditions involved in cultivating, curing, and 'remaking' this plant to maximize it's supernatural properties. Believe it or not, the customs involve lightning, thunder, and energy of a flowing stream.

Last week a computer kinda fell into my lap, and my first thoughts were about Steemit. I'm still not using a mobile phone or having my own internet, so I'll be hanging out at the library a bit.

This week I am working on a detailed article about my Sacred Tobacco, in which I am having a giveaway of Rustica seed pods. They retail for for a few bucks each online, so keep an eye out for it!

Peace and blessings.

Sort:  

We are really looking forward to that!

I don't have a cell phone or laptop - just a desktop computer that I have to boot up and sit down to write on. I missed it for a while - that instant access from wherever I was but at the same time It felt really important that when I am away from the computer that I am fully present in whatever else I am doing. It feel good and I don't miss the phone anymore.

Looking forward to your sacred tobacco post. I have grown some but failed to dry/cure it properly and would love to understand it more.

Congratulations @medicinewheel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @medicinewheel! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69935.17
ETH 3451.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69