My personal dental journey..(and my own particular fluoride rant.) GOOD TEETH WITHOUT POISON AND DENTISTS.

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

I was blessed with hard enamel and good hair (and of course, loads of good looks and intelligence...lol.) But, I am particularly thankful for my strong, hard teeth. I am not sure when I heard about the dangers of fluoride, but it must have been since the first time I ever visited a dentist when I was 24 years old. I didn't go back again for twenty-eight years after that (almost 6 years ago now,) and never will again.

WHY? Because, for people like me blessed with strong enamel, YOU DO NOT NEED A DENTIST FOR ANYTHING, other than maybe a thorough cleaning and polishing for special occasions, or something. Now, between the ages of 24 and 52, I did what most people do...I brushed regularly (once after dinner, because I never trusted fluoride, and there was no way I was going to subject myself to that poison TWICE per day) used mouthwash as needed, and flossed (occasionally.)

All was hunky dory until I was 50 years old, and I began to notice one of my molars hurting whenever I would bite down on it hard. I put up with it for a couple years, thinking it would eventually go away. It didn't. So, eventually, the pain got bad enough that I broke down and made an appointment with a local dentist (which wasn't easy--because I didn't realize dentists had developed "client lists" in the interim sine 1984, and I wasn't on a list.)

Anyway...when I got in for my appointment, he gave me "chlorhexidine gluconate" mouthwash, and told me to use that for a couple weeks, before setting a new appointment. He took cavity readings, and so forth, and determined I had a couple cavities, but the molar was especially bad, and would have to come out. I did as instructed, went back, and got the molar yanked. I went back one more time after that, got a thorough cleaning, and he seemed willing to keep proscribing the mouthwash, so I figured "what the heck...if it kills plaque and prevents cavities from getting worse, why not?" I figured if it cleared things up enough for him to recommend it before doing anything mechanically in my mouth that it would probably be all I needed, post-yank, AND IT WAS! So, I just kept on using it, and switched to brushing hard with aluminum-free baking soda every morning, and that mouthwash before bed.


(Chlorhexidine gluconate mouthwash I WAS taking. Image courtesy of webmd.com.)

I was suddenly totally fluoride free, and I loved it. Of course, there are no online studies about the dangers of "chlorhexidine gluconate" and the possible links to "chlorine"-- which is almost as bad as fluoride-- had me some what concerned, but I figured if they weren't pushing chlorhexidine the way they've always pushed fluoride, it probably was safer. I was getting the stuff for $4 per bottle because of my relatively poor financial status, and I was milking a bottle for almost three months, so it was an affordable alternative, AND IT WORKED. My teeth stayed pain free during the next 5+ years. My wife even said my breath was better than when I had been using toothpaste and regular mouthwash prior to hitting 50.

THEN, about five months ago, I went to pick up my next bottle of chlorhexidine at the local Walmart Pharmacy, and they wanted $12. I balked. They said that this mouthwash had been removed from some discount list, so I just walked.

In the meantime, my wife had been using a mouthwash over-the-counter that claims to be a real plaque fighter. So, I though I'd try that after every meal (instead of the just-once-per-day treatment I dared to use my chlorhexidine with) and sure, enough...here I am five months later, and my teeth feel better than ever.

Now... I also have a broken half of a pair of tweezers that I carefully use.. like once or twice per year.. to scrape off any visible "white stuff" on the surface of my teeth, and I do floss with those little handy bow-shaped gizmos after every meal too.

AND BINGO...I think I have finally found very low-cost and poison-free dental nirvana.

So again, AND THIS IS NOT MEDICAL ADVICE and do not try this unless you know you have "hard teeth", my regimen is:

  1. Brush hard and long each morning by wetting a toothbrush with water and inserting it into a jar of ALUMINUM-FREE baking soda (which you can buy cheaply on-line.)

  2. Have those little bow-shaped flossing tools near wherever you like to be after dinner (in front of the T.V. or computer?) and then you won't have to chase them down (which is the first hurdle to not doing it) and clean any particles outs that you can after each meal.

THREE: Use mouthwash titled: Equate Tartar Control Plus Antiseptic Mouthrinse..after at least two of your meals each day. (the primary active ingredients are menthol and eucalyptus, so it sounds pretty safe.)

This is NOT MEDICAL ADVICE, and you can consult a dentist if you like, but for five months this has worked great, and I think I am poison free now, except for an occasional sugar-intake from cookies or something that I sometimes cheat and have.

Good health to all, and to all a good day!

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing this with us. I only go to the dentist as needed too and at the last visit (molar broke) he told me how healthy my gums are. He was also amazed at how long it's been since I had my teeth professionally cleaned. I just smiled. I rise with salt water before bed every night. I brush twice daily either with just water or a very small amount of toothpaste. I think the key for me is I don't drink soda pop or eat many sweets. I think the issues I have with my teeth are from my drinking days. Beer will rot your teeth especially of you just go to sleep without brushing your teeth first. That was me for many years. Mouth is much happier now AND I'm not being poisoned either! We should get T-Shirts that say " I'm not being poisoned. How about you?"

Love it! What an awesome T-shirt idea! Of course, we'd have to have them made here. Not supporting the Chicoms in any way, shape or form.

Congrats on your good teeth!

LOL. Bumper stickers too.

howdy sir mepatriot! hey great advice here. so you think the Equate mouthwash is just as good as the Chlorhexidine stuff?

Sure seems to be, and it's just as cheap or cheaper than chlorhexidine used to be, and of course, you don't need a prescription.

I upvoted your post.

Keep steeming for a better tomorrow.
@Acknowledgement - God Bless

Posted using https://Steeming.com condenser site.

Thanks! God bless you as well, and all your good efforts in the cause of truth.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99