Herbs For Surviving A Zombie Attack | B Movie For @NaturalMedicine Survival Challenge

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)


E24FA415-0126-4740-8541-BB1FE25A118E.png

This post was WAY fun to make! When considering how to participate in @naturalmedicine's contest about survival medicines, we scratched our heads a bit. What more realistic survival situation than a zombie attack that forces you to flee your home?!?


The challenges asks us,

What if there was a zombie apocalpyse, and you had to grab a backpack with a handful of your favourite natural medicines? What if you were lost in the wild and were dreaming of the medicines that could save you? What if you were going to a desert island, and some nasty person only let you take 3 medicines? What natural remedies would you take?


8460C275-4FC1-41D0-A0AA-13D897700FB8.jpeg


In this challenge, we recreate a VERY realistic scenario where we are being descended upon by flesh eating zombies and we have to grab a few key medicines.

680FD8F7-143D-49BA-A7ED-7730980B5C6D.jpeg

Ini fell! The zombies can smell his blood!!!


Make sure to watch the video!!

BF845B95-D7A9-40C9-9A4D-62078FE31D8D.jpeg


So what 3 herbs do we choose?

  • Comfrey
  • Yarrow
  • Ashwagandha

These herbs are very useful medicines that we wouldn't live without.

E1CEA9D1-B0B9-4F36-BC5C-B7F8E54EDA01.jpeg

Zombies or not these are essential for a natural medicine survival kit. Pixabay

All these herbs grow readily on our property and we use them regularly. In survival situations, the potential for wounds, injuries and stress is greatly increased.

  • Yarrow

C00E29E7-5AB0-4577-B4E1-D3885C244178.jpeg

Named after Achilles whose mother healed his wounds after dipping him in the river styx. Its astringent property helps stop bleeding and the salicylic acid can help relieve pain from wounds. I have used it to staunch large wounds (past name was woundwort or battlewort) and am always amazed at how quickly is stops bleeding and how cooling of an effect it has. It could also be useful as a febrifuge if a fever showed up. This is an herb everyone should know as it grows readily wild all over the world! Probably in your backyard!

  • Comfrey

5227EF5B-00F6-4782-B30A-52E494504A82.jpeg

Another amazing herb that is sometimes called boneset because of its incredibility to knit bones back together. The mucilaginous leaves and/or roots can be used externally or internally in cases of bone break, strains and sprains. I have had great success with reducing swelling and bruising on major shin knockers. Be warned that if used on a deep wounds such as lacerations, the outer layer of flesh may heal before the deeper wounds have a chance to heal.

  • Ashwagandha

B0D9AA09-913E-47F3-A582-2F8DB1EF70D7.jpeg

We chose this herb because of it's adaptogenic and relaxant qualities. While we have the fresh herb in the ground, we selected a tincture (alcohol extract) for our survival kit. Ashwagandha can help the body deal with stress and adapt to changing conditions. In a survival situation with high stress and many variables, having this herb on hand to give you the strength of a horse (harkening to its name which roughly translates as "sweat of a horse") and help your body's natural resilience mechanisms to work at peak condition.


93A0BEA6-1CAE-41AA-BA48-4D2A8B6AD77E.jpeg

Did we survive? What do you think? Pixabay

While we hope a zombie apocalypse complete with flesh-eaters and those who sniff out blood to prey on humans, we know we're in good hands with these 3 plants.

Don't leave home without em!


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣

That made my Friday night!!!

Good choice on the Ashwaghanda

Too funny! i never knew you two were actors1 Funny and very informative to see the actual picking and preparing the poultices. Thanks for sharing and for the chuckle!

Oh my goodness, @porters, you should do one too....

Mine would be surviving a massive snow storm - did you see what we got the other day? I posted about it at: https://steemit.com/ecotrain/@porters/look-what-i-woke-up-to-a-winter-wonderland
night snowflakes and heavy snow bending trees.JPG

Yes I thought I commented on it? Oh no that was first frost! I'll go look in a sec...

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh i would love to see a @porters rendition!!!!! in the way north!! ooooh yeti attack!?!?

Oh man!!!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

heheh thanks! we had a lot of fun and glad you got a chuckle out of it :D

I'm absolutely dying with laughter here - this is the best video I've seen on the Steem blockchain. Wait til you see the sister film, Attack of the Killer Koalas.

<3 !!!! glad you loved it so much.. CANNOT WAIT for Attack of the Killer Koalas!!!

Muahahahaha you guys aer hilarious. Should have posted that as a @comedyopenmic post too! hahaha

Thank you!

Oh my god...! You guys are hilarious, your cat coming into the picture, initially made me think there was a zombie coming for you, just for a second.

Great little movie, looks like it was really fun to make too and by the way thanks for the tutorial one making poultice

this was great!!! the chewing the herbs had me dyingggg soo cute and practical. thank you for this great video

DYING OF LAUGHTER. BRING MEDICINE.

:D natural medicine

This really was the best video EVER! -- so perfect in every way. I had so much fun watching this!

Wasn't it?? I was killing myself laughing. It's inspired me to do one... you should too haha...

I got up this morning and watched this video again, totally giggling and smiling. Just loved this video. I hope you do one too @riverflows.

Awwww I would love if you did one!!! It would be so fun... I hear @riverflows is preparing a sequel.... Attack of the killer koalas!! This is so fun...! XO

I know me too. I've scripted it and everything lol. My boy and his girlfriend are coming over tonight and little do they know that they have to dress up as Koalas and run around the trees.

Posted using Partiko Android

ooooh, I can't wait! I love Koalas and I need to see this.

My Uncle John lived in Australia when I was born and he sent me a koala teddy bear. It was/is rather horrific really. A hard (not soft and cuddly) stuffed koala shaped bear covered in koala fur. I have a photo of me as an infant red faced and screaming, pulling away from it. I still have it. Eventually it stopped terrifying me.

I am not doing a video but I made my husband participate in a costumed photo shoot today and I am writing a story now.

Oh my goodness, I wonder if it was the same teddy bear I had as a kid? Kinda hard but with plastic claws and nose? Except I loved mine, and vomited on it as a kid and Mum threw it out and I was devastated!

oh my goodness ... yes. Plastic claws and a hard black plastic nose. I'll have to dig it out and take a photo. Wouldn't that be something if we had the same one! It became a treasured toy when I got a little older. I cuddled with it enough to wear down the fur on one ear until it was bald.

AWWWWWWWWWWWWW yes, I bet it is the same one! It would be so wierd! I was only saying to hubby this morning about you and the parellels in our lives!

haha you're so kind! lol we had so much fun doing it! would LOVE to see one from your homestead hehe!

LOL! You guys are hilarious. Good show! xD

Something new for my bug out bag...Glock, gold coins, fresh herbs. ha ha Fun post guys. btw great pics of the herbs (plus tincture).

YA, there are plenty more herbs that would be of use, but having these are a MUST. Glad you enjoyed it, we sure had fun.

You should do a response too!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98