You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: A Necessary Evil, Part Two

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

@owasco One of my sisters has Crohn's, she has had it for over 40 years. I do not blame him for not liking ensure, it makes me gag, it is to thick. Have you tried giving him smoothies made with protein powder? I grow dragon fruit and make the smoothies with it. To think about it I do not know if protein powder is a good thing to take with Crohn's, you might want to ask the Dr first. It makes my bowels loose. There must be something else besides ensure, I feel bad for him and you.

Sort:  

Thanks. He'll get better, it's just going to take a very long time. The meds they are prescribing now are very heavy hitters. I keep forgetting to try smoothies. Thanks for that reminder I'll try it tonight.

Ensure is about the nastiest thing in the world. One of my boys needs to gain weight and Ensure was one of the suggestions; I ended up dumping it because he refused to take it.

I second the suggestion for smoothies; ice, fruit, and protein powder. You can also mix in some veggies in small quantities without it fouling up the sweet of the fruit. If the protein powder won't work, I almost hate to suggest this, but maybe adding a small amount of Ensure into the smoothie would work - it would be diluted, so maybe easier to take.

Good luck! Sending definite good thoughts in your direction.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98