Natural Medicine Interview Sessions: Journalling for Healing with @thetreeoflife and @crescendoofpeace

Untitled design 11.png

We're wondering how many of you Steemsouls are using Steemit as a form of healing and wellness, writing to explore your emotional life and connect to others? In this second interview with @crescendoofpeace (you can find her water kefir interview here) by the unstoppable @thetreeoflife, both Natural Medicine writers chat about how writing, or journalling, can be a valid and therapeutic tool for health.

image.png

TOL: Ahh, @crescendoofpeace, so nice to chat with you about a topic near and dear to me and many others in the @naturalmedicine community, journaling for wellness. Can't wait to dig into some healing stuff. You mentioned in our chat on the channel the other day that you've used Journaling as a healing practice and it helped you even to avoid medications for depression. Where did that inspiration come from? To write to heal?

COP: It just sort of happened. In 1997 I went on my first dive trip to the Florida Keys, and even though I'd been reading about the ongoing devastation of our coral reefs, it was the first time I had seen it live and in person. And 1997 was an El Nino year, and a damaging tropical storm had moved through the area a short time before, so the difference between the vibrancy of the protected reefs and the rest was pretty stark.

Long story short, I came home and signed up for an online course in short nonfiction writing, figuring that I could do the most good by writing articles, and and my mind immediately switched into lyric poetry mode, lol! And no, I'm not kidding. I started writing poetry like a madwoman, which I had not done in years, often six and eight poems in a night. And, slowly, I realized that I was working through my frustration and upset through my poems, which began expanding into other areas of my life, and accelerated as I began to share my poems with others.

That was my first inkling of using writing to heal.

*TOL: Like a switch turned on in your mind! I believe it. I find that being exposed to new experiences, such as travel or engaging in a new hobby (and diving sounds both incredible and terrifying) especially those experiences that have a major impact on us and our feelings, can really act as a catalyst to opening that part of us that needs to create to express, or process. So I'm totally not surprised that such an impactful experience opened that door. It activates empathy, don't you think? And purpose.

Can I ask, as you started writing, when did you start to realize that you were on more of a healing journey? I would guess that most writers experience healing through writing. I can also attest to that. But was there a point where you said, wow this is something else? Also, I love hearing that as you shared, you experienced even further healing. How do you feel sharing your work helped accelerate the process?*

COP: I've actually written a couple of posts about that period, one for a Jerry Banfield's Spiritual Writing Challenge (or whatever it was called), which tells you how long ago it was. The short version is that I experienced the deaths of three people close to me in just over a year, with the Sept 11th attacks sandwiched in-between; first my dad, then my mother-in-law, to whom I was close, and then the man I consider my first real soulmate, with whom I'd remained close friends for over twenty years. When my dad died I was mostly coping, them Mae died, and my then-husband and I both got bad cases of flu while attending her funeral in Richmond, and his turned into pneumonia. Then September 1tth knocked the whole country off its axis, and the floodgates opened . . . I suddenly couldn't stop crying. But when Ted died, all bets were off. I ceased to be able to fully function, and as I wrote at the time, I considered my body a traitor for continuing to breathe.


image.png
Image Source

TOL: So much loss in such a short time, that must have been incredibly difficult.

COP: Luckily, during this period, I was already writing a great deal of poetry, and sharing my poems with my meditation group was one of the few things keeping me grounded. I might not be here had it not been for their support.
Then, shortly after his death I signed up for a second course in short nonfiction writing, with the same instructor, and that was a godsend . . . and in a convoluted way, that's what got me back into journaling. Around the same time, I started grief counseling, which I had been offered when my dad died, but hadn't taken them up on.

When Ted died, it was clear even to me that I needed help, and the woman who was my counselor was a gem. And she encouraged me to continue writing, and it became an adjunct to our counseling process, allowing me to come to insights I likely wouldn't have had had I not been journaling.

TOL: Wow. It must have felt... I don't even know. Like life coming at you from all sides? I feel like anybody in that situation would be in crisis mode. It sounds like 911 for you was kind of like opening the floodgates. I remember the day of 9/11 and just thinking that I've never felt anything so pregnant with silence and fear. Just devastatingly quiet.

I find it really amazing to see things that people reach for in times of devastation in their lives. Everything from exercise or alcohol to sex to actual healing tools, like writing. Or meditation. It's really fortunate that you already had those tools under your belt, although I'm sure it would have been easy to reach for something that maybe would not have served as well , or turned out to be as much of a Lifeline for you. It's almost like your Spirit or your past self was looking out for you :-) that's and encouraging thought.


image.png
Image Source

It's interesting that you mentioned needing to feel grounded during this process. I've heard that from many many people . Have you read some of the works of Pema Chodron? She actually mentions this concept A lot. There are those moments in our lives where everything falls apart. When we are in crisis mode, or survival mode, at Ground Zero. It's that feeling of empty ground beneath your feet, of nothing to hold on to. I think we experienced this on a smaller scale frequently, probably every day if we were to look at our lives and thought processes. But it's especially profound during times of crisis. Deep pain. And grief. Pema Chodron calls it positive groundlessness, because it's also a Time that's full of potential for healing and growth. Like an opportunity.

One of my favorite quotes from her is:

“Only to the extent that we expose ourselves over and over to annihilation can that which is indestructible in us be found.”

I know you didn't exactly choose those circumstances, but it sounds like you did find the part of you that survives, the part that heals. I think that's really beautiful. Can you share your process a little bit with us? Do you do a lot of free-form writing, or is it mostly poetry? Or is it more like having conversation with yourself?

COP: In any case, as evidenced by my post last night, writing still brings me to a better frame of mind, whether journaling, posting, or sometimes even just making lists. My journaling is almost always freewriting, stream-of-consciousness without engaging my internal editor, or as I usually refer to her, my inner school marm. She can be a serious pain at times. ;-) But part of journaling to me is the notion of privacy, the knowledge that I am writing for myself, and that whatever results will be shared with others only when and if I choose to do so.

And I think that is important for many of us, especially today, when even a simple email or text can be taken out of context and used against us. It is important and meaningful to have a space within which we can Express what we need most to express without fear of retribution, and journaling provides that for me. Occasionally my journaling also takes the form of writing as if for my best friend, which is also the voice I tend to use in my posts, as it is easy for me to fall into, and helps to keep the school marm at bay.

TOL: I totally get what you mean when you say: "It is important and meaningful to have a space within which we can Express what we need most to express without fear of retribution". So glad you shared that. We live in a world of judgment for sure. I think... Many times judgment is a good thing, as it helps us be discerning. But when we are judged for our emotions, our pains, and our own ways of healing from those things, its a real struggle. Sometimes, we are our own worst critics as well. That's where I have found journaling to also be really effective for me. It's a totally non-judgemental space (the journal itself) to let out whatever I need to let out, and the only person that's there to judge it is myself. Which let's face it everyone does plenty of haha but I think too, going back and reading sometimes helps me to be less judgemental of myself because it gives me a baseline. Kind of like, oh that's where I was but I've grown and changed and it was just my path, there's nothing to judge there, just to appreciate. And sometimes that can be really helpful too.

So, as a healing modality or a tool for mindfulness and expression, do you have any suggestions for someone just starting a Journaling practice? Sometimes those blank pages can be daunting, if it's something you aren't used to! I'd love to hear your thoughts on this.

COP: For anyone just starting a journaling practice, my number one piece of advice is to be kind to yourself. No one is great at everything right out of the box, and it's okay to suck at it for a while, which most of us have at some point while finding our stride. Give yourself permission to just go with the flow. If you feel like doodling, or drawing, or just staring at the page, do it. There is no right or wrong, just the dialogue between you and the page, in whatever ways it takes form, and that's okay. It's nice to have a goal, say 250 words to start with, but it's not necessary, and you'll do fine with or without it.

Just start. Above all start. The rest will take care of itself.

I also find it helpful to ask myself questions. It there a big hairy question you're wrestling with? Ask it, and have faith that your muse is working on it, whether you are currently or not. And pay attention. I've had answers come in the weirdest and most circuitous of ways, including in the lyrics of seemingly random songs or scenes in films, or even in the snippets of conversations around me. Information is all around us. We have only to open ourselves up to its flow.

TOL: That's great advice, to be kind and allow things to free flow, even if it means doodling.

"Information is all around us. We have only to open ourselves up to its flow"

......is one of the best things I've heard. That's something I also love about journaling, is it increases my receptivity to new information. I believe that handwriting has a direct link to the subconscious, which is a real key to opening up the receptors to information that is always available all around us.
Thank you so much for chatting with me, it has really been a pleasure, and I appreciate you opening up and sharing your personal experience!

Do you journal for healing? We'd love to hear about it. We'll also upvote the best comment below that includes a photo of your journal! We really love hearing from you Steemfolk, and love supporting you do what you do - please join in the conversation, and if you'd like to be interviewed by @naturalmedicine, please get in touch. You'll find us on Discord here!


image.png

image.png

Please consider delegating to @naturalmedicine by clicking any amount below. The minimum entry for membership is 10SP, and helps support and celebrate your work with natural remedies, healings and nurturings on this gorgeous blockchain!

10SPII20SPII50SPII75SPII100SPII200II300SPII500SPII1000SP
heartlogo.fw.png

Sort:  

As always this was such a lovely read, so intimate and warm. It's very nice to feel the personalities of both @thetreeoflife and @crescendoofpeace. Both of you have such kind appreciation for each other and the value of the conversation you share with us.

For me these words ring and reverb..

"Just start. Above all start. The rest will take care of itself."

OMFGs yes. I can't believe I never saw turning to writing and blogging as a form of therapy, but reading this I realise that's what I've been doing all year.

So much of what I've been writing has been reflective pieces, sorting out my thoughts and feelings into words, sentences, paragraphs... In the last couple of weeks I've been away from my now-usual routine of daily writing, and I can feel how it's affected my mood and the quality of my thinking. It's like the flow has stopped, and left me with stagnation.

For years I would scribble away in notebooks, which I still have. I've tried to maintain 'pen-and-paper' journals, but honestly I find it easier to be able to type away on my iPad or laptop. the clicking of the keys gets me into some kind of trance-like state.

Here's a photo of my 'journal'...
Screen Shot 2018-11-09 at 10.09.21.png

@crescendoofpeace: I'm wondering if you think there is any benefit from going back to past journals and reading them back... I know I'm a vastly different person to who I was when I was writing in those books, my challenges and struggles were pretty different to what they are today (or are they?)

I guess I'm curious as to whether once the thought/feeling/emotion has been poured out onto paper whether it's then gone, thus resolving itself. To not read them back and dwell on the words is like letting go of what has been, thus remaining in the present? Is there any value in the present to reading back on past journals? Your thoughts.....?

Loading...

I am interested to hear what @crescendoofpeace thinks bout this, but as a journaler myself, I've found going back and reading old stuff to be a very interesting and helpful way of reflecting. Kind of like... Helps me see how far I've come, and sometimes I find nice little nuggets of writings where I'm like, heck that was pretty good stuff. Things I forgot I wrote!
We exist in the present, so of course there's almost a sense that the person who wrote the old stuff no longer exists. Which is a little trippy. But I do think it helps.

Xx ToL

IMG_20180413_193725_863.jpg

This really moved me @crescendoofpeace, especially how you were really suffering some terrible things. I wonder where all that grief would have gone if you didn't have an outlet in writing.

It's interesting about journalling being a non judgemental place - I think that's how I always saw it as a kid, and in fact the adult self returning to reading those journals really could look into the heart of who I was back then. However, the thought of anyone reading them made me feel really embarrassed, as I worried that people would define me from those anxieties as a teenager, so I burnt them all, which was very cathartic! These days we tumble words out into virtual spaces, and it's there mostly forever.

I think I write for therapy and to work my way around problems, but there's a lot of editing involved when I publish to steem. As you know I'm quite the emotional writer, but I never really feel I totally get EXACTLY what I'm feeling down as it shifts and fluxes even in the act of writing. However, I love doing it - it's cathartic, it helps me sort out how I feel about stuff, and it helps me to connect to others.

I used to write a lot in notebooks, but now, as @metametheus says, it's all online. But I do write a lot of spiritual, yogic stuff down in a notebook, more snippets and thoughts than anything! I do like pouring through that and reassessing where I'm at in that regard, or getting little reminders of the wisdoms I've uncovered in more philosphical moments!

I have friends who do the same thing, burning all their journals, but I keep mine to honor my inner two-year-old, because burning them would hurt her feelings. ;-)

And I have done some writing specifically with the intention of burning it, such as cathartic letters to people who've harmed me in the past, with no intention of ever sending them. Burning those was really freeing.

But I go back to my journals from time to time, and I'm struck by how much I get from them after the fact, both in viewing how far I've come, and in finding that on occasion, even I was fairly young, I was making some pretty wise and insightful observations! Lol

I've also mined them for ideas for later poems and/or articles, and they've been really useful in that regard.

My journals are like my Steemit blog, in that I cover a wide range of subject matter, so it is always surprising to see just what I was concentrating on at any given time, especially when compared with now.

I too write my way through problems, and it nearly always gives me a much clearer perspective. And yes, with few exceptions, I edit heavily before publishing online.

Posted using Partiko Android

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 3 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 14 SBD worth and should receive 226 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I really appreciated reading this, I'll be cracking open one of my many journals and writing for myself again. I buy cool looking journals all the time, start writing and then stop.

Yesterday I happened to dig into my old box of treasures and in it were some random journals and scribbles, notes, pressed leaves and randomness from ...many, many, many moons ago. My husband picked one up and I immediately ripped it out of his hand and screamed "nooooo don't read this stuff". I had no idea what was even in that journal but it really helped me to see how insecure I still am about sharing my thoughts because he has never judged me and encourages me to be free all of the time.

I am so glad that you found healing and an outlet for your grief in journalling. Journalling really is a wonderful natural medicine.

Fantastic interview as always! I found journaling to be extremely helpful in my own life. I go through many periods of both journaling in tensely and they’re not journaling at all. However, during the times were I am doing some form of journaling I have found relief from my anxieties and depression. It’s not always complete relief and it’s always short lasting, but it helps to find things in my psyche I would not have found otherwise.

I am also well familiar with the Ground Zero type situation that you have expressed. In alchemy the spiritual process is known as calcination. The physical process of calcination is burning something till it’s pure white, thus removing all mundane impurities leaving only but the purest divinity. It’s a very powerful process that allows us to strip ourselves of that which we have known to discover our truth.

Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and experiences with journaling for health. <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98