New Podcast episode! Subtropical Agroforestry and the Kaua'i Food Forest with Rob Cruz and Paul Massey

Hey ya'll!


I've been super busy with the Ground Shots Podcast.

I recently released an episode I've spent a lot of time cultivating and curating.

I interviewed several folks while on the island of Kaua'i, in the Hawai'ian island chains for the podcast, and those folks were specifically involved with the community agroforestry project called the Kaua'i Food Forest.

It was a super treat to volunteer at the food forest while I was visiting Hawai'i and felt I learned a lot about tending plants in an extremely tropical environment with lots of rain and no frost.

Hawaiiapril2019edits-116.jpg

Listen here: https://www.ofsedgeandsalt.com/ground-shots-podcast/kauaifoodforest

Hawaiiapril2019edits-100.jpg

It's interesting how intention can really translate into reality. I went to Hawai'i with intention to volunteer and be receptive to hearing the story of the land, including the story of colonization. Especially since, I feel a little uneasy traveling to a place like Hawai'i with a person who has so much privilege. Not doing something that feels service and education oriented would have felt like abusing the privilege that I have. It's not that I am necessarily doing enough, but what felt like the right thing. With the limited tools and skills I have, I did the best I could. Coming away with a story about the Kaua'i Food Forest, and its community of volunteers seemed to have answered my intentions.

Hawaiiapril2019edits-160.jpg

In this conversation, we talk about:
the food forest as a community ran agroforestry project

various plants they are experimenting with at the food forest in their guilding design and grass replacement

a few nitrogen fixing trees and tending techniques

agroforestry in Hawai'i and on the island of Kaua'i specifically

're-culturing' and the educational component of the food forest

the concept of creating easy and accessible food culture

experimenting with crops that create abundance of food and ease of human maintenance and upkeep

the uniqueness of saving seed on an isolated island

the food forest as a living seed bank

the importance of seed saving

importance of preserving rare and endangered plants in their own ecosystems

canoe plants and the importance of vegetative propagation

the concept of being a 'guerrilla planter' who plants food everywhere, you don't need your own land

the influence of colonization on Hawai’ian land connection and Hawai’ian ecology

the future of the Kaua'i food forest

Hawaiiapril2019edits-159.jpg

In the link offered above, I outline three things related to this project. I present the audio recording itself of my conversation with Rob and Paul. I offer a photo diary of one work day at the food forest, with the plants mostly labeled. Of course, there are so many more plants there, and I didn't get a chance to document more of them, as well as some of the other folks who are involved with the project who weren't there the day I brought my fancy project. I also offer a small journal entry and essay of sorts that gives reasoning behind why projects like this are important. And perhaps ya'll here in the Steem world could resonate with that sentiment. As here, folks are sharing knowledge and skills for collective action on the earth.

Hawaiiapril2019edits-255.jpg

Listen and tell me what you think! I hope there's some learning in there. I know that some of you live in New Zealand, Australia, Costa Rica, Florida and other places with warmer or tropical environs, and many of the plants mentioned could be relevant to your zone. I certainly learned a lot of new plants and about fruit and tree cultivation in the tropics. And how much possibility there is with vegetative propagation! Enjoy listening.

Sort:  

Congratulations @ofsedgeandsalt! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

You’ve been visited by @vibesforlife on behalf of Natural Medicine!

Intention can indeed turn into reality. Point is you wanted to do in your heart, no matter how much you have done and being there makes you feel like misue of the privelege, nah. You got it girl because you had that energy to attract the opportunity.

We are also holding a raffle - if you'd like to win some beautiful art by @FrejaFricheck out this post. We are also behind a fundraising charity drive hosted by @freedomtribe to raise money for Venuezualan children. Please click here to enter!

50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP ♡♡♡

Discord

well thank ya. intention=reality.

So many familiar looking plants to what I see and have growing in my Northern Thai garden. Everything is so easy to propagate here, no?? LOL.... Tropical gardening is SUCH and incredible delight - I KNOW I will never go back to cooler climes after the lushness Asia has shared with my soul.


Leading the curation trail for both @ecotrain & @eco-alex.
Together We’re Making This World A Better Place.
Click Here To Join the manually curated trail "@artemislives" to support quality eco-green content.


@ecoTrain

tropical gardening blew my mind. growing collards from vegetative cutting what?????

Congratulations @ofsedgeandsalt! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
SteemitBoard - Witness Update
Do not miss the coming Rocky Mountain Steem Meetup and get a new community badge!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55