You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Has Natural Medicine Impacted My Life? - Part 2 - Kombucha and Water Kefir - My response to @naturalmedicine's question, with ALL SBDs pledged to #tarc

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

This is fantastic and really timely for me as I was just given some kefir grains and I'm not sure how to brew them but this post explains things a little. So the kefir grains eats up all the that sugar? I will share and up vote this with natural medicine when I switch accounts my dear this is absolutely fabulous.

Sort:  

My pleasure - glad to be of service!

That said, I highly recommend first using the jar method, especially as they ferment so quickly, and build up your stores of grains before you go for the continuous ferment method.

I'm basically lazy, so tried it just to see if it could be done, but although the grains will continue fermenting using that method for a year or more, they will never again grow as quickly as will fresh grains using the jar method.

And, since you will ultimately want to refresh your grains in the continuous ferment system, it is best to keep a separate strain going, so you won't be forced to beg, borrow or steal more when that time comes. ;-)

Good luck - I hope you love it as much as we do!

The jar method is basically done in a quart-sized jar, preferably (but not necessarily) wide mouth.

To each quart of room temperature water, add 1/3 cup of raw organic cane sugar, or you can use evaporated cane juice, which the grains really love. You can also use a combo of the two. Mix really well, until sugar is completely dissolved, before pouring into the jar and adding the grains. You will likely have a small amount left over, which can be refrigerated until your next use.

Cover the jar with a lid, or a permeable cover. Good options include a coffee filter held in place with the outside screw part of a two-piece canning lid, a wash cloth or kitchen towel held in place with a rubber band, or one of the plastic mason jar tops. I've used all three at various times with excellent results.

Leave on the counter to ferment, and know that it ferments much faster in warmer temperatures. I prefer mine sweet-tart, rather than really sweet, so I typically allow it to ferment for 48 hours, though it can go longer without becoming acidic. Water kefir takes MUCH longer to get acidic than does kombucha.

When you drink or decant, it is best to pour through a plastic strainer, and to rinse the grains briefly with fresh sweetened water (preferably room temperature) before placing back in the jar again, but it is not strictly necessary to do so every time. I'll often just pour off a portion to drink, leaving some of the water kefir in the jar, and simply top it off; though once a week or so, I do pour it all out through a plastic strainer, and rinse the grains properly.

Any extra water kefir you can store in a screw-top, corked or swing top bottle, allowing a second ferment, with or without additional flavorings, and make your own healthy "sodas," some of which develop the complexity and mouthfeel of a nice wine, without the alcohol content.

Serious deliciousness ahead. ;-)

This is EXACTLY what I needed. Thanks so much. How long will they live without feeding? I have hjust been given some but have to time to tend them until about Wednesday!

Loading...

Copying this to my notebook!!! Thanks again! Really appreciate it xxx

You're welcome!

It all comes with a bit of a learning curve, and there is a lot of misinformation out there, but it is so delicious and useful that it's more than worthwhile.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63724.53
ETH 3071.11
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98