You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Burdock - Abundance of Wild Food, Natural Medicine, Seeds and Fond Memories

Oh I really like what some farmers have done woth the tall raised beds! I was wondering how you get large roots like that out of the ground... especially in winter!

Thanks for the informative post. I might have to order some of those seeds too, though we have a couple different wild varieties on the property I was told.

Sort:  

Luckily the ground doesn't freeze too deeply here so we have leeway when we harvest roots, But it does get pretty soggy clay once the rains start so we try to get them out before its too wet. I'd gladly send you some burdock seeds... but if you have wild burdock growing on your property... you might be able to get seeds from them! these seeds are also wild burdock.

Yeah thanks, I can wait till spring time to see what we have. I'm still processing everything I'm learning these days but I plan on knowing how to identify every plant and trees on the property, that's for sure!

So you're saying that if it gets too wet, in clay soils, it will more difficult to pull the roots, is that because the wet clay sort of creates a bit of a suction cup effect maybe? See even harvesting edible plants is something I need to learn!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 69909.00
ETH 3924.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68