You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: I'm Not 'Too' Sensitive - Are You?

Very recognizable, @riverflows.
I've known for a very long time, but never did any actual research. It was only a couple of month ago that my therapist advised me to run a couple of tests. I scored very high on all of them, and suddenly the pieces of the puzzle all came together. Even though I knew, I didn't know that things like not being able to process radio and TV at the same time, or coming home and turning the volume down were things that were related to it.

It became clear to me why I couldn't watch the news - it triggered so many intense emotions.

I have this theory about it - nothing scientific, but once again, I read proof of it in your story...

I always remember being quite anxious about Dad coming home, worrying he’d be stressed, because it would make me feel bad.

A lot of people who have HSP have the same story. There's often a parent that triggered the nééd to detect in seconds how he/she's feeling. It may be that you're born with the 'talent' to sense people's moods, but I truly believe it's those situations that make you develop the HSP even more....

Over the years, I've sometimes seen it as a blessing, sometimes as a curse. These last couple of moths, I'm just trying to accept it like it is. I don't feel bad anymore for canceling plans or not picking up the phone because I need my own space. Like you say... it's not easy to explain to others that this has nothing to do with them, and that you're not being rude, but I keep trying :0)

Thanks for your story. I sometimes need to be reminded that I'm not the only one...

Sort:  

Oh this makes perfect sense. And it isnt neccessarily the parents fault per se (look at me defending Dad lol) but it might develop whats already a neural setting. Like a training. I liked what @metametheus said about how HSP could be valued in a tribe, like a warning system on the look out for environmental cues. Its all FASCINATING.

I am glad that you, like me, felt better about it when you knew what it was. We arent taught enough brain/psych stuff at school that might help us recognise ourselves (for me a plea for more mindfulness education and training) and thus make us feel a bit more secure about who we are and to know we are not alone. Im also struck by how many people have read this post and recognised it in themselves. Do us online folk feel comfort in online tribes as we have less signals to interpret and can choose to switch off at any point?

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69731.54
ETH 3810.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84