You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: 🌿 Qigong: To Live Again 🧘🏽‍♂️

in #naturalmedicine6 years ago (edited)

I understand this! I have for the past couple years experienced something very similar. I was training hard for many years in Taijiquan and qigong, teaching, training more, sometimes hours a day. I loved it, I loved the calm, the strength. (I also loved the sword training... So poetic and beautiful).
A couple years ago my Shifu who was also one of my best friends died. I have tried to motivate myself to train, but it's as if my body and mind have a block toward it. It's the main reason I got into yoga so much over the past few years, although I had practiced before, now I practice like I did with Taijiquan. I think I needed a break from tai chi, but your right, I have felt guilt for losing my motivation for something I loved very very much. Thank you for sharing your experience. Although the situation is a bit different, I really can relate to that feeling. 😊

Sort:  

Tai Chi, Yoga, Qigong... all will have different effects on us at different times, even though there is a common thread between all these practices.

I see it as the dance between yīn and yàng; sometimes we need one, other times the other. Part of the form I developed and started teaching involved different forms, including asanas. The point being being able to first develop the inner-awareness so that in your practice you could drop into whatever was necessary.

And that was the irony to it all, as I wrote here. I was so intent in training others I forgot to pay attention to my own needs. Part of all that was the pressures of running a business and trying to get the work out there. I’ve returned to doing Tai Chi with my teacher, it’s a lot gentler, and better for recovery from illness and fatigue. It’s also nice to be a student and not a teacher.

😊🙏🏽☯️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59179.00
ETH 2969.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75