Beauty... naturally.... simply.... cheaply!

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago (edited)
photo courtesy Pexels

The beauty industry is a multi-million dollar market enticing us to purchase the latest beauty products marketed through their fancy advertising campaigns.

In reality, it’s another ploy to get you to spend your hard-earned money which will line their pockets through their brain washing tactics suggesting that angels will sing and your wrinkles, blemishes, spots or whatever will disappear! Yeah, right!!!

Unless the product you are buying is organic or plant based, it is most likely full of chemicals; ingredients you can’t pronounce or don’t know what they are, and many may actually be harmful… I bet most of you have never even looked the ingredients up to find out what they are.

Did you know that whatever you put on your skin will be absorbed and enter into your bloodstream….within 27 seconds!

Imagine that, every day chemicals leaching into your bloodstream for the sake of beauty, doing who knows what to your system… no wonder cancer is a prevalent topic these days.

It seems to me that the sooner and closer we get back to nature and natural products, the better off we will be…. but that’s just my opinion, you can make your own.

In my own quest to live a more natural life, I turned to the grocery store to obtain my face cream, which in fact, is not cream at all. I use it morning and night and under my makeup when I feel the need to wear it.

What’s my secret ingredient?

Grape seed oil



photo courtesy Pixabay


Plain, simple, pure…. and cheap!

… and it has multi-purpose uses and benefits.

Yes, you can use grape seed oil for cooking, if you do actually use oils in your cooking… I personally try to avoid oils in my cooking as often as I can, but I digress.

I didn’t come here to talk about cooking, I came here to talk about beauty products.

Did you know that grape seed oil makes a perfect moisturizer for your skin and hair among other benefits?

Made from the pressed seeds of grapes, grapeseed oil is a by-product from the process of wine making.

Consider purchasing cold-pressed or expeller-pressed oil though which do not use chemical solvents or high heat during the processing.

Grapeseed oil does not leave your skin feeling oily. It does not clog pores and is therefore considered non-comedogenic and is ideal for all skin types.

High in Vitamin E and Omega-6 fatty acid, and known for its anti-inflammatory, antimicrobial, and anti-oxidant properties, makes it ideal even for sensitive and acne-prone skin types.

photo courtesy Pixabay
Some of the uses for grapeseed oil are:
  • remove makeup
  • tighten pores
  • aid with acne
  • moisturize dry skin
  • lighten skin
  • reduce the appearance of scars
  • aid in dandruff
  • help with hair loss
  • act as a carrier oil for essential oils
  • soothe rashes
  • prevent premature aging
  • seal moisture into hair

I have been using grape seed oil for several years now and don't think I will ever go back to the beauty industry's lines, I do not feel the need to.

For me, grapeseed oil is a multi-purpose product that meets all my needs and doesn't break the bank, you should try some for yourself.

*********************************************

*********************************************

Sort:  

I'll have to look our for this now. We use virgin coconut oil at home, so I tend to use that on my skin as it's already there. It's another one which absorbs really easily into your skin without leaving it really oily.

Posted using Partiko Android

I will still use coconut oil when I know it will have time to soak in to my skin, like feet, or at night when going to bed, but I no longer use it in the shower or for my hair for deep conditioning when it will get washed down the drain, so grapeseed oil has been a perfect replacement and is very light. Nothing beats natural oils and is so much healthier and cost effective than chemical laden products.

Thanks so much for stopping in 😊

I don't tend to use oils in the shower, so I guess I never thought of that issue.

Posted using Partiko Android

You've been visited by @riverflows, on behalf Natural Medicine.

Ugh, I HATE synthetic cosmetics! The thing is, natural products or homemade skin care work just as well if not better, for an nth of the price! I haven't tried grapeseed oil, but I use coconut oil a lot, and love the smell. I have a jar in the shower and basically rub myself all over with it, face and all! And olive oil hair treatment once in a while. Great post my dear - you most definitely ARE beautiful!


NM GEN 2.jpg

20SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SPII1000SP

If you'd like to support Natural Medicine on the Steem Blockchain, please join us on Discord, or delegate by clicking any of the links above! We're all about supporting those who write about natural healing, from herbs to yoga to being part of the natural world! Come join us!

Thanks @riverflows.... I used to use coconut oil too (and olive oil), especially for my hair because it loves it, but when cold the coconut oil solidifies and I really do not need it to solidify in my plumbing so I have moved away from using it as much for beauty and save it for my garlic bread, that's a special treat!

Thanks for popping in, you always offer such uplifting comments. 💖

I love using natural oils - absolutely my go-to for washing my face, moisturizing and everything else. I like jojoba best but grapeseed is also very lovely.

I have yet to try jojoba oil as I would have to order it online and haven't done so yet, but I know it too is highly recommended!

Thanks for popping in!

Congratulations @thistle-rock! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 5000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 6000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

3 years on Steem - The distribution of commemorative badges has begun!
Happy Birthday! The Steem blockchain is running for 3 years.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61497.86
ETH 2992.94
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69