You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Salve Making Day: Balm of Gilead

in #naturalmedicine5 years ago

This sounds amazing @belleamie. I have always been interested in herbalism. I had planned to have a garden when we bought our house a few years back. The only herb I could get to grow was basil LOL. Our area is surrounded with various types of lavender and sage and can't seem to keep up with it. We're a high desert community. 4600 ft we often exceed 100 in the summer, but winter is usually as low as the teens. It's not like gardening in Missouri or California. Missouri I could take a sprig of lemon balm stick in the ground and within a month the area would be covered.
I'll work something out eventually.

You were featured for week 38 of @pifc's Pay It Forward Curation Contest by @porters.

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the comment. I really love this salve. The herbs for it though are wildcrafted and not something I grow at home in an herb garden. Sounds like you live in a difficult growing area, but I am sure if you work with what you have there will be a way to grow herbs compatible with your ecosystem. Is wind an issue? I wonder if you could plant some screening trees for shade and wind breaks and then work from there. Please excuse if my unsolicited advice was unwanted. I love your user name. A couple years ago I was part of a group that planted a three sisters garden in the shape of a tryskele. New Year's blessings to you.

Also, I have upcoming posts planned on making evergreen lip balm and some kombucha/fermentation info. I hope you'll follow me.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68515.51
ETH 3777.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.65