Intoxicating Lilac (Syringa vulgaris)

IMG_5702_01.jpg

One Spring when the buds came bursting forth
And grass grew on the land,
The Lilac spoke to the Apple tree
As only an old friend can.
~ Kate Wolf

When I first moved to a much warmer climate (I know ...everyone giggle because I still live in a COLD climate)

One of the first absolutely shocking delights was the gorgeous perfume of lilacs and the fact that several large lilacs grew right here in my garden. Talk about living the dream. For two short weeks every spring the scent of lilac carries through the air with every breeze and I find it intoxicating.

There's something quite romantic about lilacs and washing hanging out on the line in the spring time.

IMG_5703.jpg

As you can see Molly also find the world around her quite relaxing. This is how she sleeps after spending the afternoon snoozing beneath the lilac tree. Lilac -- is said to provide a calming effect that eases anxiety.

IMG_5328.jpg

Tomorrow I am going to make a lilac infused oil and lilac infused honey but mostly I'll fill all kinds of jugs with cut flowers and spread some spring fragrance around the house.

If you know me you are surely aware that I love eating edible flowers but I'll admit lilacs are not my favourite thing to eat although when infused in honey - YUM!

Lilac Honey is easy.

Pluck the flowers and fill a clean jar with them and top up with honey. Allow to infuse for about six weeks and enjoy. I don't even bother to strain the mixture. You can do the same with rose petals. It's really pretty and nice to spread on toast or crumpets or sweetening herbal tea.

Lilac infused oil is a nice way to boost the benefits of the carrier oil. It wont be heavily scented but it will contain some of the skin soothing benefits that lilac has to offer.

Herbal infused oils are a centuries-old method of extracting the beneficial medicinal properties of herbs into the oil. These oils can be used for a variety of health, skin care, and culinary preparations.They are super easy to make! You can read the Natural Medicine guide on how to make your own herbal infused oils here.

---Medicinal Action and Uses---Used as a vermifuge in America and as a tonic anti-periodic and febrifuge; may be used as a substitute for aloes and in the treatment of malaria. source

IMG_5691.jpg

I lost myself on a cool damp night
I gave myself in that misty light
Was hypnotized by a strange delight
Under a lilac tree

I made wine from the lilac tree
Put my heart in its recipe
It makes me see what I want to see
And be what I want to be

When I think more than I want to think
Do things I never should do
I drink much more that I ought to drink
Because it brings me back you

Lilac wine is sweet and heady
Like my love
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady
Like my love

Listen to me, I cannot see clearly
Isn’t that she, coming to me, nearly here

Lilac wine is sweet and heady
Where’s my love
Lilac wine, I feel unsteady
Where’s my love

Listen to me, why is everything so hazy
Isn’t that she, or am I just going crazy, dear

Lilac wine, I feel unready for my love
Feel unready, for my love

~ Nina Simone

Proud member of @homesteaderscoop @naturalmedicine @tribesteemup @ecotrain

You can also find walkerland around the web

Homesteaders Co-op Shop | walkerland.ca | Facebook | Pinterest

Botany & Wildcrafting Course by Herbal Academy

naturalmedicine.jpg

image.png

Sort:  

Ahhhhh! My second spring is really here, you have lilacs! My have just finished; I noticed the flower heads needed removed.... When mine are blooming the whole yard is scented and it drifts into the house. It was recent enough I can still remember it. But it helps I have a lilac scented candle I've left open in my office and every now and then the scent from that drifts by...

I made lilac jelly last year, a very labor intensive project. Infused honey would be much easier....

Love the Molly photo :))

The lilac jelly you made was so pretty!!

Oh when I hear Lilac Wine I think of the Jeff Buckley version and swoon!

Lilac Honey sounds amazing! Yum..

Posted using Partiko Android

I make rose honey and love that so I think this will be similar. Can't wait to give it a try.

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Got to love a scented, edible flower. I'm starting to wonder how a variety of edible flowers will go in honey, now. They look so good decorating cakes and sweet foods, but are often a bit on the bitter side. I've shared this post in the Homesteaders - Natural Living newsletter.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

I am sure the fragrance around will be captivating. Lilac Honey I wonder how it will taste 🤨

Lilac was my mother's favorite. It was the last flower I picked for her, and will always remind me of her. She never mentioned it had any use besides being delightful and beautiful. I am grateful you did.

Thanks!

Such a beautiful flower and memory connection to your mother, that is really special.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60793.36
ETH 2909.65
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64