Wild Tip: Woody Debris is Awesome

woodydebris.jpg

I'm always loading up my Dad's truck with woody debris. But not to get rid of it. No, I'm bringing it all about to my wild homestead. Adding woody debris to your land may be one of the best things you can do.

Here is why.

Creating Habitat of Wildlife and Fungi

Woody debris provides very important habitat for wildlife. If your land or food forest or even garden is lacking in woody debris I suggest adding some.

I installed snags in my garden (dead logs stuck in the ground like a post) that are always being used by birds as perches. I have even seen wood peckers on them.

Logs and piles made out of large branches also create great habitat. I often find garter snakes and other predatory critters such as centipedes hanging out under these. By giving them habitat they in turn help keep my pests under control.

Snags and logs on the ground also provide habitat for beneficial fungi. These fungi can benefit the soil and your plants and sometimes they even provide benefits for you!

For example, I have a ton of turkey tail mushrooms growing on several logs I brought to my wild homestead. Studies have shown this mushroom is great for giving your immune system a boost. I will sometimes pick some when I'm walking around my homestead and chew on it if I'm feeling a bit down.

Nice, easy and safe preventative medicine. Both for the land and for you!

Giving Your Plants Shelter

Logs and stumps placed on the exposed side of your plants can also create nice cool micro-climates. All my fruit trees get logs placed on the south side to help shade the soil at their base and keep their roots cool and moist in the summer heat.

Logs and stumps can also deflect some of the wind blowing along the ground and even deflect cold air around your plants.

I also place smaller logs in my garden to shelter new seedlings from the direct rays of the sun.

With the proper setup you can create some nice micro-climates around your plants using logs and stumps. And of course these will also result in more habitat.

Mimicking Nature

If you go out into a healthy forest there will be woody debris all over. Large logs and snags are critical components of any forest and I highly recommend mimicking this setup on your own wild homestead.

Of course there are even more uses for woody debris (such as building hugelkultur beds) which is why I can't get enough of it on my wild homestead. Check out this blog post to learn more:

7 Ways to Use Woody Debris on Your Homestead


Wild-Homesteading-New-outlines-50-x-250.png

Follow me for more posts all about working with nature to grow your own food and build a natural life: @wildhomesteading

And check out my blog - www.wildhomesteading.com for weekly in-depth posts on how to work with nature, grow your own food, and build a wild homestead. When you work with nature, nature works with you.

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post has been selected to be included in my weekly Sustainability Curation Digest for the Minnow Support Project.

Resteem to my 2300 followers and upvote! Excelent creation !

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you so much! Really appreciate it!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Congratulations @wildhomesteading! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 1000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 2000

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64400.33
ETH 3140.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.93