Oasis RuinedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #nature5 years ago

I went to see the Maspalomas sand dunes yesterday. I was looking forward to chilling with camels and getting that Sahara vibe here on the island. I didn't actually make it to the dunes in the end, but that's a story for another post.

JPEG image-61D8DCFB016F-5.jpeg

La Charca de Maspalomas

The Charca - a Marshland along the way to the sea side and sand dunes, is a sanctuary and nature reserve populated by wild birds and various aquatic lifeforms. It's kind of an oasis right next to the desert landscape of the Maspalomas sand dunes.

I didn't spend enough time there, as I was diverted to do something else by a very skilled salesman, so I didn't get a chance to photography the wild birds. I did, however see quite a lot of fish and what looked like turtles in the water.

JPEG image-61D8DCFB016F-4.jpeg

It was quite early in the day but already the temperature had soared to about 29 degrees Celsius. There was a gentle ocean breeze that made it feel a little less hot, but you could still feel the sting of the sun. It reminded me so much of Dakar, Senegal - which is a peninsula city in the same body of water just a bit to the south east of here on the mainland of Africa.

Most of the islands in the Atlantic are volcanic rocks that were sanded over centuries by the great African Sahara. The air blowing over the oceans carrying the sand settled bit by bit until now. I remember a couple of years ago in London, we got a massive wave of that sand in the air. The sky was a golden brown and we all thought the end of the world had finally arrived :)

I had an interesting conversation about that with the taxi driver in my minimal Spanish. Actually it happens my Spanish is better than I thought it was. I find it easier to speak to Latin American Spanish speakers as well as Canarians. I find it a lot harder to understand speakers from mainland Spain. Apparently this is a common thing.

JPEG image-61D8DCFB016F-8.jpeg

The single-use plastic rears it's ugly head again, floating desolately in the otherwise serene midst of nature 😡

I was basking in this incredible view of nature when I suddenly got really frustrated by the sight of a plastic bottle floating in the middle of the water. This is definitely not the only piece of litter that's been thrown into this oasis. I'm sure people have casually thrown banana peels, orange seeds, even paper, into the water. All of those, however, would have either been eaten by the marine life, decayed and decomposed by bacteria into the bios or disintegrated. Plastics don't do any of those. They will forever be there until removed.

While it may have been an accident, or blown into the water by the wind from a bin site, or whatever, it highlights the need to address the single-use plastic issue.

What do you think can be done to resolve this problem? Do you even think there's a problem?

Sort:  

People could really take everything that they brought with them home again!

Posted using Partiko iOS

That’s would be perfect, but we are taking about people here 😕

Posted using Partiko iOS

Maspalomas

Going there over Xmas. Haven't been to GC for years.. 80's! Hope there something left to look at.

Hahaha. No idea :) I never made it to the dunes. I may go again on Friday. I'll try sidestepping the tour salespeople this time haha.

Ack.. yes, tour salespeeps = nightmare!

IMHO, oil derived polymers must be made illegal. Starting from single use and progressively going up the ladder.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hardline. I like it :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Beautiful view

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64383.21
ETH 3098.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.89