Magical World #26: After a long time, it has been raining again!

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Summer heat

Here in Netherlands we've had the hottest and driest summer I ever witnessed. The last year it was as dry as this one, was 1976. Long before I existed.

I enjoyed the warm weather and sunshine, which seemed to last forever, a lot. But what I didn't like as much was to see the Dutch landscape turn from green to yellow and to brown.

Delftse hout

Yesterday evening we had friends over and we had dinner together and then more wine and then gin tonics. So this morning we went out and had ourselves a big breakfast, with eggs and salmon and a lot of coffee. Then we went for a walk in an area we usually only drive through, but now decided to explore a bit: Delftse Hout. This area has a few places around to have some coffee or breakfast or lunch. There are a lot of little streams with bridges to cross them, and especially a lot of beautiful little lanes through the area surrounded by green, which were lighted up by the sun as we were passing through.

IMG_0031.jpg

water

IMG_0036.jpg

little bridges for crossing

IMG_0049.jpg

lovely little lanes

IMG_0060 (1).jpg

more water, and an opportunity to push my husband in

IMG_0053.jpg

the atmosphere was very peaceful, just what I wanted for my Sunday morning

IMG_0045.jpg

I took at least ten pictures here. The green was so intensely green! Like it wasn't just me being happy that we've been having some rain again. Nature is celebrating it too and gives the impression of second spring

My Venezuelan friend

It's always fun to discuss Dutch weather with people not originally from here. My Venezuelan friend was so happy with the weather being hot and dry for so long. I remember telling her that after coming back from living in India for one and a half years, I really enjoyed getting on my bike during an autumn storm to literally have the wind blow me away. Only after returning I realised how much I had missed the windy, cold weather we get to have here a lot. You should have seen the look on her face when I told her that. She always makes fun of me about it, but it's true! Even today, while the sun was out enough to add some warmth to our little hike, I particularly enjoyed the wind. Which is so lovely for that feeling of clearing your head.

Summer coming to an end

After summer, there's always that time when you realise the evenings are growing shorter again. Even when the temperatures are still up and the weather is good, you know that the summer season is coming to an end. But what a lovely summer it was.

IMG_0067.jpg

some flowers at the parking lot


Magical World Series

This is post #26 in the Magical World Series. With these posts, I hope to add a little happiness and light-heartedness to your day. There is magic in every little corner of the world. And if we share it with each other, it does really brighten up the place!

Some earlier posts in this series:

All content is created by me, and Steemit original.
Camera: Canon G7X. Thanks for your support!

DQmdQnN7LAnyvqSavjUcLV6LxKrbXSdT5iz6ctYUrPnEaC3.png

Sort:  

Uch, I would miss storm and rain so much when I would live in a warm/dry/tropical country! I've written about this in many posts with pictures of dark clouds hehe :')

Awesome to realize these contrasting experiences through traveling and/or meeting people from different countries!

Exactly!! Dark clouds, wind, storms - they make us take deep breaths and face life head on :)

Hello, I love this place, full of greenery . It's nice for have a walk through the nature.

Yes, it's a lovely place. Very peaceful. And I was so happy to see the landscape turn green again! :)

Thank you for your contribution to the "photocircle" tag

Cheers,
@photocircle Team

Check out this post for information on all the Photocircle tags

Learn about this photo curation project by clicking >here

To learn more about the new project feature, please click on the quest image below.

To stop receiving comments then reply !STOP!

wow nice capture. i like it.
Please can you upvote to my photos also in my blog & follow me. thank you.

Congratulations @amritadeva! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of posts published

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Hello @amritadeva, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Hello @amritadeva,

Congrats! Your outstanding work is featured on the Photocircle Top 10 Contributors for the category "Amazing Nature".
Cheers!
@Photocircle Team


You may view the post where your photograph is featured through this link: https://steemit.com/@photocircle/photocircle-top-10-contributors-128th-edition-amazing-nature

Learn more about this new project feature through the link below:

» Photocircle Project Quest

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 62302.26
ETH 2994.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.96