2018 Day hike, Eastern Connecticut

in #nature6 years ago

It was an unseasonably warm morning for January in New England. As the day went on, the temperature dropped quite a bit. I headed out early as the sun was still rising. There was a ton of rain the day before, and I was greeted on the trail by lots of water covering the path.

Sorry for the blurry picture, but it seems to be the only one I have of the massive amounts of water covering the path.

Found this rock covered with lichen. I'm pretty sure this type is edible, but I didn't have any reference material with me, and I wasn't feeling particularly hungry at this time.

It almost looks like peeling green sloughs of paint.
Large size glove wearing average 36 year old male hand for size.

You can tell it's January by just how ungodly white my skin is.

In some spots of CT, you can find these massive boulders of solid quartz. They are very impressive. Some people will pull pieces of them off to keep. I leave them alone. My wife tells me I don't need to bring any more rocks into the house anyways.

My bag.
A pawn-shop find, I think I got it for 30 bucks? It works, it has a couple major flaws, like the absence of an exterior water-bottle holder, but for short day-trips it works well enough.


Home sweet home for the morning. I didn't really need the tarp set-up, but it's always nice to practice a bit.
Yes that is a regular household tarp. yes my wife painted on it. yes I am hoping to buy a decent bushcraft tarp just for myself.

Some feather-sticks and starting to fill my hat for my first bushclass post. The new Mora works great for this. I never really used a scandi grind in the past, always had flat grind knifes for hunting/skinning/gutting.

Didn't have the time or need to build a whole fire, but I did light up the feather sticks and shavings.

I put together a short video of some of the streams that were overflowing.

Thanks for looking.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61361.03
ETH 2932.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.67