You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Don't Tread On Me

in #nature5 years ago

Love this, and BLESS YOU for releasing the snake unharmed. Even if he was ungrateful. ;-)

We used to have a 6' gopher snake that hung out on our place when I was a kid, and we knew it was the same one for years, because he had a broken pattern on his back.

Every so often he'd show up in our neighbor's yard, and she'd call my mom to "rescue" her, who would then calmly pick up the snake and leave. Little did she know that our mom would wait until dark, then release the snake on our side of the hill, farthest from our neighbor's yard.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

Lol! I hope the neighbor brought baked goodies for rescuing her, or something that would be extra sweet for the little secret!
Rattlers are the only poisonous snakes around here, and they ARE around here so he had me doing a pretty good "getaway" jig for a minute. Once I realized he was not rattling, I felt pretty badly, never should have left the net on the ground. He owed me a scolding as much as a "thank you" I suppose!

Yeah, I can relate, I'm regularly rescuing critters that have gotten into watering bowls by accident, then couldn't get out.

I rescued two fireflies this afternoon from a bowl on our back porch, left out for the dogs, though three other bugs weren't so lucky, and had already died.

Pretty much the definition of unintended consequences.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 63510.21
ETH 3068.27
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.81