Daily Nature Fix: Dizzying Heights of the Colca Canyon, Peru. GUEST BLOGGER! (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago

Hi folks! It’s Kylene, Adam’s wife, guest blogging tonight. I love to travel. If there’s one thing people know about me, it’s probably that. My travel obsession, as some have called it, has played a big role in a lot of major life decisions for me. Being that I travel often and love it so much, I’m often asked what my favorite place has been. That’s hard to qualify, but one of the places that always comes to mind when thinking of the most memorable trips I’ve taken is Peru. I can’t put my finger on exactly what made it so special, but I think it was a combination of the beautiful scenery, unique culture, and fascinating history. Tonight I’m going to share a few photos of one of the many gorgeous stops my friend and I made on our whirlwind two week Peru adventure.

KyPeru00a.jpg

Welcome to the Colca Canyon. As the second deepest canyon in the world (10,730 ft at its deepest), and nearly twice as deep as the Grand Canyon here in the US, the Colca Canyon is impressive to say the least. Parts of it are sloped and lined with man made terraces for faming, while other areas are so steep it was dizzying to look down.

KyPeru00b.jpg

One of the best parts of visiting this awe inspiring terrain was seeing the Andean Condors that live in the area. With the canyon walls being so high it was possible to see the Condors not only flying above us, but also below us in canyon. These condors are sometimes referred to as the Eternity Bird, with a typical life span of 60-70 years. And if that’s not impressive enough, they have a massive wing span of 7-9 feet. Rightfully so, these special birds are the object of worldwide conservation efforts.

KyPeru00c.jpg

We spent a good amount of time just sitting on the precipice of this stunning canyon, taking in the flight of the condors as well as the scenery above us, while trying not to think about the canyon floor 3,960 ft below us. At nearly 11,000 ft above sea level, the air was also a bit thin there, so it was a good place to relax and take it all in.

KyPeru00d.jpg

Thanks for reading and exploring this wonderful travel memory with me. It’s been a pleasure.

Have a great weekend!

Kylene

Thanks for reading! I post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Yeah...i think the combination with Beautiful view, unique culture, and great history is the best thing in a travelling.. and love travel too.

Wonderful explore trip.
You describe of your journey well

Beautiful shots and nice to meet you. I did not make it to the cola canyon when I was in Peru. Next time !

Great photos and a great blog with excellent information. I will definitely go to this
place one day. This is the first post of you which I read and I loved it. I am going to read every past and future posts of you. I hope every
post will be as good as this one.

Exploring the unexplored or difficult to explore is really a hard task, man I truly salute your work.

I'm also a fan of travel, it's great pictures already, but there's a great risk of traveling amid this valley, you're a great adventure @customnature

This is a looong way down. Would love to see more pictures of it.

Very cool, I got to see a California Condor in Big Sur a few times, crazy how big they are!

That's awesome. I need to get to Big Sur. We saw one of the Cali condors flying around in the Grand Canyon when we went. I guess they have a decent populations of them there.

Nice, I'm glad they're doing a little better even though they are still listed as critically endangered.

I'm really sorry for my fault.I wont do this again.please take your downvote.I will alwyas upvote.Please my request.I am new comer in steemit.So I appologize sincerly.please take back the downvote.

Guao que bello.. Siento nervios de solo verte allí.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95