Daily Nature Fix: Newfoundland in Black & White. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Hello friends. Boy, it's rare I start writing before noon, but here I am. I foresee a busy day ahead of me, so I better get one in while I can. Anyway, today's Daily Nature Fix is going to be a few photos from around Newfoundland, but they will be in black and white. I'm not a huge fan of b&w photography, but it's a nice change of pace and fun to mix things up a bit. It is cool how different a photo can look.

NFLbw00c.jpg
^^^This photo was taken on Western Brook Pond in Gros Morne National Park. I find it funny that it's called "pond" because it's huge. 10 miles long and 550 feet deep. It's actually a fjord that has been disconnected from the ocean over time. Those mountains are the Long Range Mountains and are actually the northern most part of the Appalachian Mountains, which is cool because I live among the same mountain range all the way down her in Pennsylvania, USA. That waterfall on the right is called "Pissing Mare Falls". Great name, no? Aside from it's funny name, it's one of the tallest waterfalls in North America at almost 1,200 feet.

NFLbw00b.jpg
^^^This was taken at Blow Me Down Provincial Park at the western most part of the island of Newfoundland. It's looking over a bit of the Atlantic ocean; the Gulf of St. Lawrence to be exact. I liked the life saver thing.

NFLbw00a.jpg
^^^This was in the little fishing town of Port aux Basques in the south western tip of Newfoundland. It's while we were waiting to board a ferry to get back to Nova Scotia. It was a neat area. There was some live traditional music being played at a small park near by, as well as a few mom-and-pop's type of restaurants.

NFLbw00d.jpg
^^^To me, this is quintessential Newfoundland and it shows the main reason I wanted to go there: to see some giant icebergs! This was in the northernmost area of the northern peninsula. This big sucker was sitting in a small inlet called Goose Cove. It was probably around 100 feet tall. A passing fishing boat made for a neat photo.


Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Congratulations! Your high-quality travel content caught our attention and has earned you a partial upvote. We love your hard work and hope to encourage you to continue to publish strong travel-related content. Thank you for using #travelfeed

004Artboard_2 (1).jpg

Learn more about our travel project on Steemit by clicking on the banner above and join our community on Discord.

Much obliged! I appreciate what you guys are doing. Keep up the good work!

Thank you, we are happy to hear that!

I do not like black and white photos very much either, but your photos look very good in black and white, and the giant icebergs look amazing.

Thanks! I was told we were late in the season too, and that the icebergs were some of the smaller ones. We're planning on going back when there are more and even bigger ones!

That would be incredible, I hope to see them when you post them

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65231.30
ETH 2943.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66