Daily Nature Fix: Rare Birds at the Feeder Today. (Original Photos)

in #nature6 years ago (edited)

Good evening, ladies and gentle of steemit. Tonight's Daily Nature Fix photos all come to you from earlier today at our home in central Pennsylvania. It was a busy day doing a lot of house work and repairs, but I found myself doing some birdwatching for a good hour in the afternoon. Now, I'm not a "birder" at all. I have a hard time identifying birds and stuff, but I do enjoy having them around. I hang around 4 different feeders from the black walnut trees in our backyard and we get a lot of "usuals". You know, finches, robins, doves, etc. However, there were several not-so-common visitors today. NOTE: Don't pick on me for my bent and crooked looking bird feeder! lol It has been torn down and chewed on by a black bear 3 times now. :)


^^^This is my favorite photo from today. You see that blue bird in the bottom right? That's a indigo bunting. We've lived here around 5 years now and we've only seen them twice, on two different years. Above it is a visitor all the way from Maryland. A baltimore oriole! Another bird we've only seen once or twice in our time here. Another favorite part of the photo is the little head popping out from behind the feeder. lol A true birder friend and neighbor of mine identified that little bugger as a female grosbeak. I'm not sure about the other two birds on the feeder, anyone know?

Birdos00b.jpg
^^^Speaking of grosbeaks, here's a pair! These are rose-breasted grosbeaks... a name that seems obvious once you see the male there. These birds are also pretty rare (to us), showing up about once every other year. Above him is either a house finch or a purple finch. They looks similar to one another and they hang out at our feeders a lot.

Birdos00aa.jpg
^^^Here's a bluejay that showed up. Beautiful birds but they are kind of dicks. They always swoop down to the feeder and send all of the other little birds scattering away. lol They're kind of bullies, from what I understand. I LOVE how it's feathers look like a mosaic in this photo though.

Birdos00c.jpg
^^^And there's a bit of the ground crew. There is often scenes like this right beneath the feeder; scavengers scoffing up seeds that have fallen from the feeder above. These two are a red-winged blackbird and a gray squirrel.

Birdos00e.jpg
^^^Another member of the ground crew, at least at this moment. A male cardinal hopping around on the ground, but they do often eat right from the bird feeder itself. Beautiful creatures!

Birdos00d.jpg
^^^Here's another group shot. A male golden finch coming in for a landing on the lefthand side and that rare indigo bunting on the right. I'm not sure about the gray ones in the middle, but I think they may be female finches of some sort.

Birdos00f.jpg
^^^This little fella caught my attention on the trunk of a nearby walnut tree. It's a red-bellied woodpecker. A stupid name for the species really, because their belly/chest area has a very faint reddish-orange hue to it; but their head looks like this.

Thanks for reading! I try to post a nature-themed Daily Nature Fix blog every day. Please upvote if you enjoyed it and resteem if you found it especially interesting! Be sure to follow me @customnature so you'll never miss out on your nature fix! See you tomorrow. - Adam

*** These daily blogs showcase the natural world. It is all original content using photos, stories, and experiences from my own travels. ***

Sort:  

Fabulous photos! I had all of their cousins in my yard today! The first indigo bunting of the season today. Love these action shots!

We never see the indigo buntings. I saw a flash of blue and figured it was an eastern bluebird, which we have a lot around here. I didn’t see any white or orange on it though an grabbed the binoculars to identify it. Pretty exciting to see for a normal mundane afternoon. :)

I often have some nest nearby and frequent my feeder, but didn't have any that stayed the whole season last year. I remain hopeful for this season! They are so beautiful! Right now I'm enjoying seeing the Orioles again, too. They love all the big tall trees in the neighborhood. Nature watching is the best!

The feathers on that bluejay are awesome! We just refilled our bird feeder a few days ago and had a few visitors. I can't wait to see who shows up

Oh man, I cold only imagine the kind of critters you have out there in the sticks!

Nice action shots, and beautiful birds!

Great stop action photos. I'm like you have one bird feeder and know the basic birds but have to look up the ones that are here seasonally.

Excellent fine! Its hard to believe such an array of different birds can be found just in your back lol.

I've never noticed how colorful birds are, especially the red one. It's more what I would expect from jungle birds.

I had a very similar thought when editing the photos. They're the kind of colors you'd normally see on parrots and such. Especially the cardinals and bluejays, but I see them frequently enough, I think I'm just jaded.

The first photo definitely has the best composition of variety and action, it's incredible how crisply you've captured their movement well done!

Thanks! I'm hoping they'll improve once I get a new camera...

Wow!What a wonderful variety in one area that is awesome!
I rarely see the Grosbeak I seen 2 last year.
Great photos nice action capture!Sharp!

Thanks! Glad you got to see such a cool/beautiful bird yourself. The males are awesome looking.

I'm so sorry about the aswcontest I created a post today and screwed up the tag, I put an "S" on the end of aswcontest what a goof I am. I will do better next week. :) Thank You for your support!!@customnature.

These birds are wow. Not only the indigo is beautiful but all the Birds

Blue jay looks great. Some nice shots here. Thanks for sharing

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65935.31
ETH 3015.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75