HAVE YOU SEEN A LENTICULAR CLOUD?

in #nature5 years ago


source

Wait, is that a UFO?, Or is it the famous Aladdin's carpet?, Is it a religious sign?

All these are questions I had in my mind when I saw it online. Well, in my country, the last question above is usually the first.

But then you get to agree with me, it's such a beauty. Looking like waffles packed on top of each other. Or pancakes all piled up (Don't mind me, I love food too).

I've always been a lover of clouds. Looking through a car window whenever I'm traveling and seeing those white fluffy floaters that look like cotton candy.

source

I loved it so much I gave my love interest the pet name "clouds".

So, what is this fascinating beauteous miracle before us today?

It is called LENTICULAR CLOUDS

LENTICULAR CLOUDS


source

Apparently, these clouds are just a natural phenomenon. According to wunderground.com;

A lenticular cloud is a lens-shaped cloud that normally develops on the downwind side of a mountain or mountain range. This occurs when stable, moist air flows over a mountain, creating a series of oscillating waves.

How is it formed?


source

According to the Mother Nature Network;

When the moist air reaches the crest of the mountain, a wave pattern, or atmospheric standing wave, is created in the airflow. As the air hits the crest of the wave and moves downward, the cloud formed at the crest may evaporate, forming the cloud which sits at the very crest of the wave. Sometimes strings of lenticular clouds form at each crest of each successive wave in the wind pattern.
source

What this means is that, if you are around a mountainous region, you are most likely to find this beauty of nature.

source

I'm feeling glad I don't need to travel far and wide to find this. In fact, my hometown has some mountainous features. So I'll be looking out to finding one of these around those parts when next I visit.

I guess I'll be looking out for these features in the sky. This is going to be the first series of posts expressing my love for clouds.

There are so many types of them. And they are so beautiful when they come in perfect arrangement.

source

I hope I'll get enough money for a plane ticket this Christmas, so I can travel close to the clouds.

If you find a lenticular cloud or maybe you have found it in the past, you can share your experiences in the comments section below 👇

Sort:  

I think that first one is a pyramid that exists in the 4d about to manifest itself into the 3d, lol. Interesting post. I have always loved the amazing things that clouds can do and really love them when you are on a powerful psychedelic. Though, I must say, the bottom series of images that have the criss-crossed cloud lines are probably just chemtrails. Hold your nose! lol.... Thanks for sharing. Upvoted and resteemed.

I'm excited I've found another who shares my love for clouds. Thanks @shaman-ra, I really appreciate the love

Hi, @cuteflames!

You just got a 0.49% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

Hello again @cuteflames. Thanks for writing about lenticular cloud. I love nature too and enjoy the sight of natural occurances. However, I think your review was a few steps away from being unique. I suggest you make it more lengthy and informative next time. Thanks again.

How to write a unique review? Click Here.

Do you have any questions? Chat with us on Discord

[RealityHubs Moderator]

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57