Hurricane Harvey - Houston Rescue - A Parent's Dilemma

in #nature7 years ago (edited)

He wants to go to Houston


photo credit

My son is very energetic and very capable. He wants to go to Houston to be a part of the rescue operations. There are lot's of organizations and citizens doing there part to help. This app, apparently, is very active right now with people organizing themselves to help Houston.




Let me explain about my son. He is 23. He is a very experienced Life Guard, SCUBA Master Instructor, Rescue Diver and has a huge heart for helping people. With no emotion involved I would say that he is a very qualified person to participate in this type of activity.

photo taken from my son's facebook profile pictures

Now, as a parent... We know that our son will see things that will change his life forever. There will be misery, death and destruction. The physical risks are many many. There are dead animals and people in the water. The contamination can be unimaginable. The alligators, snakes and balls of fire ants in the water are also a risk. People are a bigger risk in some areas. yes, PEOPLE... they are looting and shooting.

I love, admire, and respect my son

But we fear for him. Our prayer is that his talents will be used, but he will be safe! He is not one to be talked out of something once he puts his mind to it. Trying to get him to NOT go isn't likely an option. At this point we are sharing as much information with him as possible to help him be prepared for what it is that he is about to encounter.

What is the dilemma?

Our dilemma is NOT whether or not to let him go. He's GOING. He did not let us know of his plans so we could make any choices for him. He was NOT asking for permission. Our challenge now is with how we feel about this. I'm proud and I'm fearful. For me, I have to turn this to prayer or I'll drive myself crazy with concern. Mama... she's a mess (mother's will understand).


screenshot of text message to my son

Please Pray

Please pray for those in the storm needing helped! Also pray for those First Responders, Emergency Crew and those civilians that are giving up all comfort and safety to help other.


My 5 Most Recent Posts

*for your upvoting pleasure*

ImageTitle Link
daddykirbs blogHow Are You Doing? - The Last (hopefully) HURRICANE HARVEY Update
daddykirbs blogEXTRACTING BEES FROM A LARGE LOG - Part 2
daddykirbs blogHow are you doing in HURRICANE HARVEY? - My updates
daddykirbs blogBeekeeping and HURRICANE WIND
daddykirbs blogCreating the Burn Barrel / Can - Using a Metal Nibbler


Steemit-Homesteaders-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Gardeners-daddykirbs-small.pngSteemit-Beekeepers-Daddykirbs-300.pngsteemit-dads-daddykirbs-small.png

If you want a badge (Homesteading, Gardening, Beekeepers, Woodworkers, Dads, Moms, Food Preservers) please submit $1SBD to @daddykirbs with a memo stating what it is for :)


Thank you for sharing this time with me!
UPVOTE, RESTEEM, and FOLLOW!


Sort:  

My prayers are with you and I have faith that he will come through this all in all a wiser and stronger man!

Blessings~*~

I'd say let him go if he can help some people. It will be a valuable experience. nothing is without risk.

Oh, he's going. He wasn't asking permission! LOL ... our dilemma is how to feel about it. :)

I should have written this in a way that was more clear about what the dilemma actually was. Oops.

I just added a paragraph to address that ;)

How amazing that you have raised a man that has a heart to serve and help. I pray the father will watch over him and give him comfort through the things he is about to witness. I can't imagine how you feel about seeing him go, but even through all the worry and fear, you should still be so proud!! Does he have a group he is going with or is he just going to drive down and take a dive and see what he finds. I assume he would be safer in a group. I pray the father will give your family some peace of mind as well.

Thank you. He's going with a buddy, but has said that he is in contact with some groups.

Don't worry friend, God has got your son and everyone covered.

I can definitely understand the warning you are issuing your son. May your prayers be answered and may your son be able to help many people who need a good man to show up for them right now.

I am not surprised by this at all, after all his parents have raised him to be this way. Raising kids is sorta like raising a butterfly, they have to be the one coming out of the cocoon by themselves, we can't help that part just be there to help along the way... As a parent I will also be keeping him in my prayers...
Shared for other prayers to be said for you all.

Wow, what an amazing son. I understand that you are proud and concerned at the same time. I hope he'll be able to contribute and help people in Houston and that he himself stays safe! Take care all!

Prayer for safety and that the Father puts him where He needs him to be!

What a tragedy, a lot of strength to those who have suffered the devastation, in my last post I talk about this situation, I would appreciate it if you give me a look at my last post and give me your opinion, greetings and success in everything! Texas Strong! God bless you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68396.79
ETH 3797.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.56