Mechit Peak

in #nature6 years ago

All these countless hikes start to pay off except with the amazing views, but also with significantly increased endurance. I can walk now on these steep paths around the mountains faster and longer without getting tired, which is great because I can see more. Several months ago I thought that I've seen most of what Rila can offer, but the more I hike, the more I understand that even a lifetime wouldn't be enough for this small paradise mountain. Several days ago I finally went to Mechit peak - 2568m. I've started that hike several times before, but never managed to finish it. I guess it was because I didn't think it worth it so much and I kind of didn't have enough motivation to finish it, but I couldn't have been more wrong. It is so beautiful up there! There is a road that leads to the peak(but also a steeper and shorter pathway) and crosses a big part of Rila, built more than 100 years ago - at the end of 19th century. The King's Road - probably an old Roman road, remade by King Ferdinand I for an easy reach to Rila Monastery.

This is the first part of it - https://steemit.com/nature/@danielapetk/hiking-with-the-butterflies

And again - I've never seen so many butterflies somewhere else so high in the mountain! It is strange, I am curious why they are so many there.

It is a long hike, that starts from around 1300m and passes by several peaks with great panoramic views.

Here is the view from the first one - Budachki Kamak(2448m). Although it is not very clear on this photo, from here one can see the mysterious lake Yozola, which is one of the most difficult(almost impossible) lakes to reach in Rila Mountain, because there are creeping pines all around it. I think that its name sounds really well and later I found out its meaning - it has a Тurkish origin and it means something really beautiful , that attracts your soul, but you can't have it.

DSCN8541.jpg

DSCN8510.jpg

1.jpg

In the distance, still covered with little snow spots, is Lopushki peak - 2698m. After Mechit Peak the pathway continues tothat peak, but I've never been there yet. As far as I know, there is a joke that it is a peak with "temper", that don't let anyone to reach it. I know a mountaineer who had tried three times and the weather made him go back each time. Here are several photos of it from different points along the trail.

DSCN8543.jpg

DSCN8534.jpg

DSCN8573.jpg

DSCN8575.jpg

DSCN8612.jpg

There are two Mechit peaks actually - Small Mechit - 2535m and Big Mechit - 2568. After Budachki kamak peak, the pathway passes by Small Mechit.

DSCN8550.jpg

After that by some nameless peak.

DSCN8539.jpg

All the time the panorama is just stunning!

DSCN8603.jpg

2.jpg

DSCN8560.jpg

DSCN8545.jpg

And then it is time for Big Mechit.

DSCN8548.jpg

DSCN8549.jpg

And this is the view from there!

DSCN8579.jpg

DSCN8584.jpg

DSCN8589.jpg

It is not a popular hike, that's why it is unusual to meet people there. The old road, the amazing panoramic views, the wind up there and the countless butterflies make the experience just amazing. Space, beauty and freedom that make you want to come back as soon as possible :)

Thank you for stopping by!

8C617049-81C2-42CA-927B-F354A0E094FB.jpeg

Sort:  

I love your amazing photos. Nature is so bright and colorful. I have a feeling that I have come this way with you. Thank you, @danielapetk !

Thank you very much, @madlenfox!! Really glad you liked it :))

Great post to read, and beatuiful pictures👍🏻. You have loooots of peak to climb and hike to 🏃‍♀️💪

Thank you so much, @harkar!

Beautiful - I don’t think I could ever tire of mountain views.

All these countless hikes start to pay off except with the amazing views, but also with significantly increased endurance

I wish I could say the same for myself. I’m spending my first little bit of time in the mountains for a long time, and I’m doing a lot of huffing and puffing!

Hey, @bec-on-the-block, Thank you very much for your comment! If you continue with your hikes, huffing and puffing will soon decrease significantly :) Where are you? In which mountains?

Thank you again for taking us on a breath taking trip, you work so hard to bring us these photos, I truly admire your strength @danielapetk.

I also really enjoyed hearing all of the lore surrounding the different landmarks...especially the definition of Yozola...<3 Just awesome.

Hey, Lyndsey, thank you very much for your kind words and for putting your time in reading my post! I appreciate it! I just melted when I heard about Yozola, so romantic :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64014.44
ETH 3064.06
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86