The Fundamental Connection to Nature

in #nature7 years ago

So ... we have moved so far from nature - or have we?

I mean, I'm not a spiritual guy. I don't believe in any higher being, and I certainly don't believe God or any such concept. And yet ... I walk into the forest and I feel peace. Let me fill you in.

I work from home - my work is in community building and education, but when I want inspiration, I head for the forest which is within a ten minute drive of my home.

21167055_10155913970072494_7007906633069639181_o.jpg
(Image by Dr Robert Muller)

Give me the blue sky, the animals running free, the beautiful thick vegetation - even if I'm not trying to create ideas, they come to me when I'm out here.

DSC_0157.JPG
(Image by Dr Robert Muller)

My local forest is a haven. It's a sizeable wilderness area in the foothills on the edge of a city of 1.2 million people. When life gets too hectic, I drive into the forest where my shoulders drop, my lungs open, and my frowns just melt away. But ... I do this EVERY day - EVERY lunchtime as a break from my work.

This sense of a haven in the midst of the fast pace of modern life - a place where you can be still with your thoughts but still with a feeling of being out there in the world - this is what it's all about.

DSC_0026.JPG
(Image by Dr Robert Muller)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69747.29
ETH 3747.51
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78