You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Curious Relationship Between the Wasp and the Fig

in #nature6 years ago

Super informative. As a little kid, I had heard of fig wasps and went through a brief period where I was afraid of getting stung when eating the fruit.

As an adult, I'm partial to the idea that agriculture started as a way to make fermented beverages, rather than bread. I was initially worried when I read that figs may predate grain, but I'm happy to say that it looks like one can make a great drink out of them too (although, that's a distilled version).

Sort:  

I love the fact that you were worried about being stung--children get odd impressions. Glad to hear about fig fermentation :) Never know when that comes in handy. I couldn't resist looking up the history of fermentation--curiosity leads me down strange paths sometimes. Found this--https://eatcultured.com/blogs/news/fermentation-a-history. You never know, fermentation may have come first.

I like to believe so.

One of my favorite things is that the ancient Sumerian Hym to Ninkasi doubles as a recipe for brewing beer.

I can almost hear voices rising up as women set to work brewing beer. The Hym is wonderful. I may use that as a resource in the future. Thank you!
But the part of the article that tickled me most was the line: "many academics - who may, as a class, have special expertise in beer". Author was having a bit of fun there.

But the part of the article that tickled me most was the line: "many academics - who may, as a class, have special expertise in beer". Author was having a bit of fun there.

Do yourself a favor and lookup the etymology of symposium if you don't know it already ;)

I didn't know it, but do now! Thanks. Another wonderful bit of information.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 71329.64
ETH 3801.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50