Moss and Lichen

in #nature5 years ago


Steemit Contest Changed My World - Literally


Back in my early days on Steemit@kus-knee of mundane art contest fame, asked me if I was going to submit a photo for that particular week. The topic was moss and lichen I said, probably not. I couldn't think of any photos that I had in my collection that were suitable and, living close to the sea I felt it wasn't likely that I would get the opportunity to take any new ones.

How wrong I was!

green moss.jpg

I went out for a walk that afternoon and was amazed to see that a lot of the trees, that line the avenues, had moss and/or lichen growing on their west side. What? Gasp? How can that be when they are so close to the sea.

Out came my phone.

It was a grey day so the colours weren't very vibrant but I wanted to give you a taste of the variety of mosses and lichens on my doorstep that I had no idea were there.

green moss 6.jpg

Without the photography contest I would have walked right past them as I must have done hundreds of time before. But suddenly I was seeing the world differently.

green moss 7.jpg

Then to cap it all . . .

I live in a mews property so we have big garage doors (used to be the stables) and on those doors we have 2 hay mangers which I plant up every summer. I hadn't gotten around to removing the previous summer's plants and when I came home from my walk I noticed some beautiful vibrant green moss growing underneath one of the dead plants (see top picture).

Talk about right on your doorstep!

All those winter days I had missed this.

I was humbled by how this little Steemit contest had literally changed my world. That day I saw what was always there, but that I hadn't noticed before and that is something that has continued for me.


~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Sort:  

Ah yes, I remember @kus-knee's "mundane art" series... and particularly this particular one. Moss and lichen do make neat subject matter... if you get close enough, they are like small forests.

if you get close enough, they are like small forests

I agree @denmarkguy. They must be a fun ting to photograph with a proper camera.

@kus-knee has recently done another "mundane art" contest - fence posts and he running a regular one now of flowers growing in unexpected places. Worth checking out if you like that sort of thing! 😁

Thank you gillianpearce! You've just received an upvote of 8% by @ArtTurtle!


Learn how I will upvote each and every one of your art and music posts

Please come visit me as I've updated my daily report with more information about my upvote value and how to get the best upvote from me.

Hi @gillianpearce!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.999 which ranks you at #3604 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 36 places in the last three days (old rank 3568).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 253 contributions, your post is ranked at #94.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • The readers like your work!
  • Good user engagement!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64513.89
ETH 3155.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.00